Dean's Circle

The Faculty of Science’s Dean’s Circle is an advisory committee established to assist our dean in achieving strategic goals for the Faculty. 

The Dean's Circle advises our dean on topics like:

  • strengthening the reputation of the Faculty within the local, provincial, and national landscapes, and beyond;
  • providing community and business expertise, and advising on industry trends; 
  • advocating for the Faculty and fostering research and learning opportunities for faculty and students within the broader community.
Pamela Cook Ellemers

Pamela Cook Ellemers is Principal Mineral Resource Manager for De Beers Canada. In her 25+ years of career in the mining industry, she’s held a variety of leadership roles within exploration, laboratory services, project management, and mineral resource management within the De Beers Group of companies across Canada and internationally. As a passionate advocate for raising the awareness of geology and science amongst young people, Pamela is the programme manager of the De Beers Canada Inclusion and Diversity working group and in partnership with UNWomen has lead the development of a scholarship programme in support of women in STEM at UCalgary and across Canada. Pamela is accredited as a Professional Geoscientist in the province of Ontario.

Gordon Lambert

Gordon Lambert is currently the Suncor Sustainability Executive in Residence at the Ivey School of Business and has established GRL Collaboration for Sustainability as a consulting practice. He was instrumental in the creation of Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA). He has 36 years of experience in the energy sector, including 17 years with Suncor as VP Sustainability and 15 years with Imperial Oil.  He was a member of the Alberta Climate Leadership Panel reporting to the Environment Minister and Premier, and chaired the Alberta Climate Leadership Task Force on Technology and Innovation. A board member of the Canadian Institute for Climate Choices, he holds an Hon BSc in Biological Sciences from the University of Guelph and completed the Ivey Executive Program in 1997.

Owen McGoldrick

Owen McGoldrick, BSc’01 (Computer Science) & MBA’08 (Finance and Global Energy Management and Sustainability), hails from St. John’s Newfoundland, raised in Calgary, Alberta and continues to call the province home. He has served in various leadership roles across diverse career interests including hospitality management, information technology, and currently in facilities management. As the Chair of UCalgary’s Faculty of Science Alumni Advisory Council, he is also a member of the Faculty of Science Dean’s Circle. A passionate Albertan who loves the outdoors, Owen and his family live in Canmore.  

Katie McLean

Katie McLean has worked in Sales and Marketing for high growth companies such as Google, Oracle and HP and has been a key catalyst for revenue growth in tech start ups and scale ups. Trained in Cloud and SaaS, Katie is most comfortable on the leading edge of ideas and technologies. She is the founder and CEO of TuskHub and brings best in class resources to collaboratively generate purpose driven sustainable growth for tech start ups and scale-up companies. Katie has a degree in Communications from Carleton University and served on the Board of the Alberta Cancer Foundation for six years, chaired and founded Joe’s Team Calgary and raised over $1 million for cancer research in Alberta.

Joy Romero

A metallurgical engineer by training, Joy Romero has held operating, consulting and project management roles in steel, coal, iron ore and oil sands industries on two continents. Currently the Vice President, Technology & Innovation at Canadian Natural Resources Limited, she joined the organization in 2001 and played a leadership role in the development, construction, commissioning and operation of Horizon Oil Sands operation. Joy also serves as Chair of the Clean Resource Innovation Network, Board Chair of Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance, and Vice Chair of the Petroleum Technology Alliance of Canada. Joy is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineers, an inductee into the Canadian Petroleum Hall of Fame and a past member of the Science, Technology & Innovation Council for Canada. 

Idan Shoham

Idan Shoham founded M-Tech Information Technology Inc., and serves as its Chief Technology Officer. He is responsible for defining product and technology strategy and the overall development of M-Tech’s solutions. He works closely with his talented team to ensure that the solutions that M-Tech delivers to the market are of the highest quality. Prior to founding M-Tech in 1996, he provided network security consulting services to large organizations such as Shell, Amoco, BP Canada and Talisman Energy. Idan holds a Bachelors and Masters degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering, both from the University of Calgary.