Outdoors on campus.

Vision and Mission Statement

Outdoors on campus.


The Department of Geoscience is a vibrant cornerstone of the University of Calgary. Formed in 1963 under the Department of Geology title, the addition of a geophysics program in the 1980s helped the department further expand. The growth of hydrology and environmental geology brought about the current name. The department is internationally and nationally recognized for its strengths in seismic geophysics, petroleum geology, hydrology, petrology and regional tectonics.

Quick facts:

  • Largest geoscience department in Canada
  • Located next to the Rocky Mountains
  • Bachelor's, master's and doctoral degree programs

Have a question about the Department of Geoscience? Get in touch