Research Areas

Located in Canada's most enterprising city and neighbouring one of the nation's best playgrounds (the Rockies), the Department of Chemistry's graduate program offers you the opportunity to collaborate with world-class researchers, work in highly sophisticated labs, and build the skills you need to pursue stimulating careers in both research and industry.

Among many other things, our 40 faculty members and 100+ graduate students work on advancing knowledge and finding solutions to problems regarding Chemistry for Cleaner EnergyChemistry for Life and Health and Chemistry for the Quantum-Nano World that involve the following various research themes:

  • Biological and medicinal chemistry
  • Chemical education research
  • Chemical synthesis and catalysis
  • Computational chemistry and molecular modeling
  • Energy and environment
  • Nanotechnology and materials chemistry

Spotlight on research

Our researchers apply chemical principals to cellular and molecular biological problems. The central focus of this leading edge research is the fundamental investigation of disease mechanisms, the interaction of toxins with biomolecules, the understanding of complex biological systems, and the development of potential therapeutic or pharmaceutical targets.

  1. Thomas G. Back

    Organic
    (403) 220-6256
    tgback@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  2. David T. Cramb

    Physical
    david.cramb@ryerson.ca

    View profile

  3. Darren Derksen

    Organic
    (403) 220-2610
    dderksen@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  4. Jurgen Gailer

    Analytical
    (403) 210-8899
    jgailer@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  5. Belinda Heyne

    Bio-physical
    (403) 220-3887
    bjmheyne@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  6. Farideh Jalilehvand

    Inorganic
    (403) 220-3855
    faridehj@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  7. Chang-Chun Ling

    Organic
    (403) 220-2768
    ccling@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  8. Justin MacCallum

    Theoretical, physical
    (403) 220-8349
    justin.maccallum@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  9. Arvi Rauk

    Theoretical
    (403) 220-6247
    rauk@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  10. David C. Schriemer

    Biological
    (403) 210-3811
    dschriem@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  11. Kevin Thurbide

    Analytical
    (403) 220-5370
    thurbide@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  12. Jeffrey Van Humbeck

    Organic
    (403) 220-3039
    jeffrey.vanhumbec1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

Chemical education researchers endeavour to understand the process of learning chemistry at the undergraduate level. Our scholars are examining how to create more effective classroom learning environments, innovative laboratory experiences, creative tutorial settings and more.

  1. Jennifer Adams

    STEM educational research
    (403) 220-6017
    jennifer.adams1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  2. Max Anikovskiy

    Nanoscience
    (403) 220-3115
    manikovs@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  3. Wendy Benoit

    Organic
    (403) 220-3293
    wlbenoit@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  4. Yuen-ying Carpenter

    Organic
    (403) 220-6908
    yyscarpe@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  5. Ashley Causton

    Organic
    (403) 210-3968
    acauston@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  6. Ian Hunt

    Organic
    (403) 220-6430
    irhunt@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  7. Julie Lefebvre

    General
    (403) 220-7602
    jlefebv@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  8. Vivian Mozol

    General
    (403) 210-8458
    vjmozol@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  9. Amanda Musgrove

    Analytical
    (403) 220-2745
    amanda.musgrove@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  10. Nicole Sandblom

    Natural sciences
    (403) 210-9816
    ntaucoin@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  11. Erin Sullivan

    General
    (403) 220-6913
    ersulliv@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

Our researchers are developing ways to break and make chemical bonds in an efficient and controlled manner to design new molecules and control chemical transformations. This area of research is critical to the generation of materials and products spanning small molecules, polymers, supramolecular assemblies, bioactive compounds and solid-state materials.

  1. Thomas G. Back

    Organic
    (403) 220-6256
    tgback@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  2. Darren Derksen

    Organic
    (403) 220-2610
    dderksen@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  3. Pierre Kennepohl

    Inorganic, Physical
    pierre.kennepohl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  4. Jennifer Love

    Inorganic/Organic
    (403) 220-5340
    jennifer.love@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

     

  5. Warren E. Piers

    Inorganic
    (403) 220-5746
    wpiers@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  6. Roland Roesler

    Inorganic
    (403) 220-5366
    roesler@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  7. Samira Siahrostami

    Physical, theoretical
    (403) 338-3262
    samira.siahrostami@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  8. Greg Welch

    Inorganic, organic
    (403) 210-7603
    gregory.welch@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  9. Jeffrey Van Humbeck

    Organic
    (403) 220-3039
    jeffrey.vanhumbec1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

Quantum chemical calculations are used to predict and understand processes and materials of relevance to biological, catalytic and energy-related applications. Our primary aim is to integrate density functional theory, molecular mechanics and molecular dynamics into statistical and stochastic methodologies. Our internationally-renowned researchers have also developed software that can determine the properties and reactivity of a wide variety of compounds.

  1. Pierre Kennepohl

    Inorganic, Physical
    pierre.kennepohl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  2. Peter Kusalik

    Theoretical
    (403) 220-6244
    pkusalik@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  3. Justin MacCallum

    Theoretical, physical
    (403) 220-8349
    justin.maccallum@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  4. Arvi Rauk

    Theoretical
    (403) 220-6247
    rauk@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  5. Dennis Salahub

    Theoretical
    (403) 220-3720
    dsalahub@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  6. Samira Siahrostami

    Physical, theoretical
    (403) 338-3262
    samira.siahrostami@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  7. David C. Schriemer

    Biological
    (403) 210-3811
    dschriem@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

Our department has international leadership in the development of energy production, conversion and storage technologies that have minimal impact on the environment. This multidisciplinary task includes the development of fuel cell materials and photovoltaic technologies, development of CO2 capture and storage materials, as well as applied catalysis and sulphur chemistry. Advanced analytical tools are applied to observe transformations of pollutant species in air, water and food.

  1. Thomas Baumgartner

    Inorganic
    thomas.baumgartner@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  2. Viola Birss

    Physical
    (403) 220-6432
    birss@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  3. Peter D. Clark

    Industrial
    (403) 284-2054
    pdclark@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  4. Michelle Dolgos

    Inorganic, physical
    (403) 220-7877
    michelle.dolgos1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  5. Pierre Kennepohl

    Inorganic, Physical
    pierre.kennepohl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  6. Jurgen Gailer

    Analytical
    (403) 210-8899
    jgailer@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  7. Farideh Jalilehvand

    Inorganic
    (403) 220-3855
    faridehj@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  8. Robert Marriott

    Applied sulfur
    (403) 220-3144
    rob.marriott@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  9. Hans Osthoff

    Analytical
    (403) 220-8689
    hosthoff@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  10. Warren E. Piers

    Inorganic
    (403) 220-5746
    wpiers@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  11. George K. H. Shimizu

    Inorganic
    (403) 220-5347
    gshimizu@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  12. Todd Sutherland

    Organic
    (403) 220-5340
    sutherlt@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  13. Venkataraman Thangadurai

    Physical
    (403) 210-8649
    vthangad@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  14. Kevin Thurbide

    Analytical
    (403) 220-5370
    thurbide@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  15. Simon Trudel

    Physical
    (403) 210-7078
    trudels@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  16. Greg Welch

    Inorganic, organic
    (403) 210-7603
    gregory.welch@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  17. Susana Kimura-Hara

    Analytical
    (403) 220-7519
    s.kimurahara@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  18. Jennifer Love

    Inorganic/Organic
    (403) 220-5340
    jennifer.love@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  19. Roland Roesler

    Inorganic
    (403) 220-5366
    roesler@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  20. Samira Siahrostami

    Physical, theoretical
    (403) 338-3262
    samira.siahrostami@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

Our researchers develop novel materials for applications in diverse areas such as energy storage, biomedicine, catalysis and magnetic materials.

  1. Thomas Baumgartner

    Inorganic
    thomas.baumgartner@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  2. Viola Birss

    Physical
    (403) 220-6432
    birss@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  3. David T. Cramb

    Physical
    dcramb@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  4. Michelle Dolgos

    Inorganic, physical
    (403) 220-7877
    michelle.dolgos1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  5. Belinda Heyne

    Bio-physical
    (403) 220-3887
    bjmheyne@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  6. Pierre Kennepohl

    Inorganic, Physical
    pierre.kennepohl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  7. Peter Kusalik

    Theoretical
    (403) 220-6244
    pkusalik@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  8. Yujun Shi

    Physical
    (403) 210-8674
    shiy@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  9. George K. H. Shimizu

    Inorganic
    (403) 220-5347
    gshimizu@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  10. Todd Sutherland

    Organic
    (403) 220-5340
    sutherlt@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  11. Venkataraman Thangadurai

    Physical
    (403) 210-8649
    vthangad@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  12. Simon Trudel

    Physical
    (403) 210-7078
    trudels@ucalgary.ca

    View profile