Department of Biological Sciences

Connect with us.

Location and mailing address

Biological Sciences 186
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW   
Calgary, AB, Canada
T2N 1N4

For General (non-student advising) inquiries contact biosci@ucalgary.ca

Office hours

Monday to Friday

8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.
1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Due to COVID-19 we are working remotely, please contact us via contact information below.

Click the image to download the full overview map of main campus (PDF, 3.1 MB)

Contact information for undergraduate students

The Department of Biological Sciences office at BI 186 no longer provides student advising. For any undergraduate student advising please use the following Undergraduate Science Centre contact information:

Emails:

Virtual front desk at 403-220-8600

Undergraduate Science Centre website

Contact information for graduate students

For any graduate student advising please use the following Graduate Science Centre contact information:

Questions about our MSc and PhD programs? 

Questions about our Professional Certificate, Diploma, and Master programs?

Graduate Science Centre website


Technical Facilities

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SHOPS

Technical Support Services Manager

Michelle Forgeron
mamforge@ucalgary.ca

-----------------------------

Workshop
Location: SA 07
sciwksp@ucalgary.ca
220.5576
Hours: 8am - 4pm
Staff: Todd Willis, Jay McIssac, Nik Hamilton, Jason St. Louis
Visit website

Glassblowing
Location:  SA 09
sciglass@ucalgary.ca
220.5578
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Mark Toonen
Visit website

Electronics
Location: SA 013
scielectronics@ucalgary.ca
220.5371
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Duncan Hanna, Jimmy Omar
Visit website

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Science Stores
Location: SB 050
scistores@ucalgary.ca
220.5351
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Magdi Khalil, Nelson Cruz
Visit website

Chemistry Instrumentation Facility
Location: SB 134
mamforge@ucalgary.ca
220.5359
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Wade White, Jian Jun (Johnson) Li, Michelle Thibault
Visit website

Chemistry X-ray Facility
Location: SB 328
xray@ucalgary.ca
220.7176
Hours 8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Ben Gelfand
Visit website

GeoScience Instrumentation Group
Robert Marr (rmarr@ucalgary.ca); Julia Pickering (jepicker@ucalgary.ca)

Greenhouse Group
Dianne White (whited@ucalgary.ca); Cheyenne Kiani (cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca)
220.5233

Space Administrative Coordinator
Sophia George (georges@ucalgary.ca)

Technical Support Services Admin
Cathy Bartsch (cbartsch@ucalgary.ca)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

View list of Technical Operations Group staff members


Department Head

Dr. David Hansen

Dr. David Hansen

(403) 220-7496
dhansen@ucalgary.ca

View profile


Events, Communications and Marketing

If you have identified a need and support for marketing, communications, events or student related activities, please complete the following request form to start the process of working together.

>> Access the form now

Undergraduate Learning Services

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager
Lynne Maillet
maillet@ucalgary.ca

>> View more contacts

Arminty Clarke
aclarke@ucalgary.ca

Spomenka Curic
scuric@ucalgary.ca

Francene Cusack
fcusack@ucalgary.ca

Kelly Teal Dunwald
kteal@ucalgary.ca

Paulette Harrison
pmharris@ucalgary.ca

Louise Haln
lhahn@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Kearley
kearley@ucalgary.ca

Karen Li
kwli@ucalgary.ca

Brant Pohorelic
bkjpohor@ucalgary.ca

John Swann
jeswann@ucalgary.ca