University of Calgary entrance sign

Department of Physics and Astronomy

Connect with us.

Location and mailing address

Science B 605
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW   
Calgary, AB, Canada
T2N 1N4

For General (non-student advising) inquiries contact phasoffice@ucalgary.ca

Office hours

Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.
1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Due to COVID-19 we are working remotely, please contact us via contact information below.

Click the image to download the full overview map of main campus (PDF, 3.1 MB)

Contact information for undergraduate students

The Department of Physics and Astronomy office at Science B 605 no longer provides student advising. For any undergraduate student advising please use the following Undergraduate Science Centre contact information:

Emails:

Virtual front desk at 403-220-8600

Undergraduate Science Centre website

Contact information for graduate students

For any graduate student advising please use the following Graduate Science Centre contact information:

Questions about our MSc and PhD programs? 

Questions about our Professional Certificate, Diploma, and Master programs?

Graduate Science Centre website


Technical Facilities

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SHOPS

Manager – Technical Support Services

Marc Wrubleski
mlwruble@ucalgary.ca


Workshop
Location: SA 07
sciwksp@ucalgary.ca
220.5576
Visit website
 

Glassblowing
Location:  SA 09
sciglass@ucalgary.ca
220.5578
Visit website
 

Electronics
Location: SA 013
scielectronics@ucalgary.ca
220.5371
Visit website

 

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Science Stores
Location: SB 050
scistores@ucalgary.ca
220.5351
Visit website
 

Chemistry Instrumentation Facility
Location: SB 134
chem.instrumentation@ucalgary.ca
220.5359
Visit website


Chemistry X-ray Facility
Location: SB 328
wen.zhou1@ucalgary.ca
Staff: Wen Zhou
Visit website


Geoscience Instrumentation Group
Robert Marr (rmarr@ucalgary.ca); Kamran Javed (Kamran.Javed@ucalgary.ca)


Greenhouse Group
Dianne White (whited@ucalgary.ca); Cheyenne Kiani (cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca)
220.5233


Space Technical Specialist
Kevin Friel (kevin.friel1@ucalgary.ca) and scispace@ucalgary.ca


Technical Support Services Admin
Cathy Bartsch (cbartsch@ucalgary.ca)


Core Facilities Assistant
Erika Branagh (erika.branagh@ucalgary.ca)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

View list of Technical Operations Group staff members


Undergraduate Learning Services

The ULS is comprised of a team of multidisciplinary technicians providing direct support for teaching labs in Science.

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager
Farzin Malekani
fmalekan@ucalgary.ca

Please email Farzin Malekani if you have a support request or question.

>> View more contacts


 Christoph Simon

Dr. Christoph Simon

Department Head

csimo@ucalgary.ca

View profile

 

Jo-Anne Brown

Jo-Anne Brown

Associate Head, Graduate

jocat@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Dr. Christopher Cully

Dr. Christopher Cully

Associate Head, Undergraduate

cmcully@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Jörn Davidsen

Dr. Jörn Davidsen

Associate Head, Research

jdavidse@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Dr. Claudia Gomes da Rocha

Dr. Claudia Gomes da Rocha

Associate Head, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

claudia.gomesdarocha@ucalgary.ca

View profile


Events, Communications and Marketing

If you have identified a need and support for marketing, communications, events or student related activities, please complete the following request form to start the process of working together.

>> Access the form now