Department of Physics and Astronomy

Connect with us.

Location and mailing address

Science B 605
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW   
Calgary, AB, Canada
T2N 1N4

For General (non-student advising) inquiries contact phasoffice@ucalgary.ca

Office hours

Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.
1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Due to COVID-19 we are working remotely, please contact us via contact information below.

Contact information for undergraduate students

The Department of Physics and Astronomy office at Science B 605 no longer provides student advising. For any undergraduate student advising please use the following Undergraduate Science Centre contact information:

Emails:

Virtual front desk at 403-220-8600

Undergraduate Science Centre website

Contact information for graduate students

For any graduate student advising please use the following Graduate Science Centre contact information:

Questions about our MSc and PhD programs? 

Questions about our Professional Certificate, Diploma, and Master programs?

Graduate Science Centre website


SCIENCE TECHNICAL SHOPS

Workshop
Location: SA 07
sciwksp@ucalgary.ca
220.5576
Hours: 8am - 4pm
Staff: Todd Willis, Jay McIssac, Nik Hamilton, Jason St. Louis

Glassblowing
Location:  SA 09
sciglass@ucalgary.ca
220.5578
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Mark Toonen  

Electronics
Location: SA 013
scielectronics@ucalgary.ca
220.5371
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Duncan Hanna, Jimmy Omar

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Stores
Location: SB 050
scistores@ucalgary.ca
220.5351
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Magdi Khalil, Nelson Cruz

Chemistry Instrumentation Facility
Location: SB 134
mamforge@ucalgary.ca
220.5359
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Wade White, Jian Jun (Johnson) Li, Michelle Thibault

Chemistry X-ray Facility
Location: SB 328
xray@ucalgary.ca
220.7176
Hours 8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Ben Gelfand

GeoScience Instrumentation Group
Robert Marr (rmarr@ucalgary.ca); Julia Pickering (jepicker@ucalgary.ca)

Greenhouse Group
Dianne White (whited@ucalgary.ca); Cheyenne Kiani (cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca)
220.5233

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

View list of Technical Operations Group staff members


Department Head

Image of David Knudsen

Dr. David Knudsen

(403) 220-8651
knudsen@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Undergraduate Learning Services

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager

Lynne Maillet
maillet@ucalgary.ca

------------------------------------------------

Zain Ahmed
zain.ahmed2@ucalgary.ca

Wesley Ernst
wernst@ucalgary.ca

Peter Gimby
pgimby@ucalgary.ca

James Pake
jpake@ucalgary.ca

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager

Lynne Maillet
maillet@ucalgary.ca

------------------------------------------------

Jennifer Howse
jihowse@ucalgary.ca
Rothney Astrophysical Observatory