Department of Physics and Astronomy

Connect with us.

Location and mailing address

Science B 605
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW   
Calgary, AB, Canada
T2N 1N4

Get in touch

Email: phasoffice@ucalgary.ca
Phone: (403) 220-5385

Office hours

Monday to Friday

8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.
1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Department Head

Image of David Knudsen

David Knudsen

(403) 220-8651

knudsen@ucalgary.ca

View profile

  1. Gerri Evans

    Administrative Coordinator
    (403) 220-3618
    gevans@ucalgary.ca

  2. Marni Farrant

    Administrative Assistant
    (403) 220-5385
    marion.farrant@ucalgary.ca

  3. Camilla Mascardo

    Administrative Assistant
    (403) 220-2061
    camilla.mascardo@ucalgary.ca

  4. Suzanne Taylor

    Administrative & Technical Operations Manager
    (403) 220-4224
    stayl@ucalgary.ca

  5. Carlos Villafuerte

    Project Administrator
    (403) 210-7582
    cvillafu@ucalgary.ca

  1. Jo-Anne Brown

    Associate Head, Graduate
    (403) 220-8014
    jocat@ucalgary.ca

  2. Tracy Korsgaard

    Graduate Program Coordinator
    (403) 220-3617
    korsgaar@ucalgary.ca

  1. David Feder

    Associate Head, Undergraduate
    (403) 220-3638
    phas.ahugrd@ucalgary.ca

  2. Helen Werner

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator
    (403) 220-8127
    phasugrd@ucalgary.ca

  1. Zain Ahmed

    Undergraduate Support Technician

    zain.ahmed2@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  2. Abhijeet Alase

    Postdoctoral Associate

    abhijeet.alase1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  3. Joshua Alvares

    Inst Design & Assembly Assistant

    joshua.alvares@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  4. Neda Amiri

    Research Assistant, Sessional Instructor

    (403) 210-9683

    amirin@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  5. William Archer

    General Associate

    wearcher@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  6. Paul Barclay

    Associate Professor

    (403) 220-8517

    pbarclay@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  7. Brenden Bickner

    Software and Electrical Eng Tech

    brenden.bickner@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  8. Erik Biederstadt

    RAO Support

    erik.biederstadt1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  9. Jo-Anne Brown

    Associate Professor, Graduate Studies

    (403) 220-8014

    jocat@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  10. Johnathan Burchill

    Manager - Research Projects, Adjunct Assistant Professor

    (403) 220-8108

    jkburchi@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  11. Darren Chaddock

    Data Systems Technician

    (403) 220-4426

    dchaddoc@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  12. Martin Connors

    Adjunct Professor

    martin.connors1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  13. Christopher Cully

    Tier II NSERC CRC Space Plasma, Associate Professor

    (403) 220-6088

    cmcully@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  14. Jörn Davidsen

    Associate Professor

    (403) 210-7964

    jdavidse@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  15. Hubert de Guise

    Adjunct Professor

    hubert.deguise@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  16. Gustavo de Oliviera Luiz

    Postdoctoral Associate

    gustavo.deoliveiralu@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  17. Ronn Miguel Delos Reyes

    Inst Design Assembly Assistant

    ronn.delosreyes@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  18. Jason Donev

    Senior Instructor

    (403) 210-6343

    jmdonev@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  19. Eric Donovan

    Professor

    (403) 220-6337

    edonovan@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  20. Greg Enno

    SMILE-UVI Manager

    (403) 220-7972

    genno@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  21. Stephanie Erion

    Satellite Operator

    stephanie.erion@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  22. Wesley Ernst

    PhysicsAstronm Technician

    (403) 220-7401

    wernst@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  23. Gerri Evans

    Administrative Coordinator, Department Administration

    (403) 220-3618

    gevans@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  24. Marni Farrant

    Administrative Assistant

    (403) 220-5385

    marion.farrant@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  25. David Feder

    Associate Professor, Undergraduate Studies

    (403) 220-3638

    dfeder@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  26. Timothy Friesen

    Assistant Professor

    (403) 220-6123

    timothy.friesen@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  27. Robert Gillies

    Physicist/Astronomer

    rgillies@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  28. Peter Gimby

    Junior Labs Supervisor

    (403) 220-5403

    pgimby@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  29. Robert Goldbeck

    Instrument Design Assembly Assistant

    robert.goldbeck@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  30. Claudia Gomes da Rocha

    Assistant Professor

    (403) 220-7023

    claudia.gomesdarocha@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  31. Gilad Gour

    Affiliated Position

    (403) 220-3939

    gour@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  32. Braden Greaves

    RAO Assistant

    braden.greaves@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  33. Xianxin Guo

    Gen Associate Postdoctoral

    xianxin.guo@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  34. Ghazal Haji Salem

    Gen Associate Postdoctoral

    ghazal.hajisalem@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  35. Anna Harlick

    Instructor

    (403) 220-8648

    anna.harlick@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  36. Bart Hicks

    Senior Instructor of Physics & Astronomy

    hicks@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  37. David Wesley Hobill

    Associate Professor

    (403) 220-6965

    hobill@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  38. Warren Holley

    Satellite Operator

    wholley@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  39. Andrew Howarth

    Manager - Research Projects

    (403) 210-8930

    adhowart@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  40. Jennifer Howse

    RAO Education Specialist

    (403) 931-2366

    jihowse@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  41. Johanna Irrgeher

    Adjunct Professor

    johanna.irrgeher@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  42. Patrick Irwin

    Technician

    (403) 220-2593

    (403) 220-6964

    irwin@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  43. Brian Jackel

    Associate Professor

    (403) 220-4271

    bjackel@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  44. Troy Kachor

    Research Lab Assistant

    (403) 220-2251

    trkachor@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  45. Kamran Karimi

    Postdoctoral Associate

    kamran.karimi1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  46. Marzena Kastyak-Ibrahim

    Coordinator - Undergraduate Learning, Sessional Instructor

    (403) 220-8073

    marzena.kastyakibrah@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  47. Charles Kirkby

    Adjunct Associate Professor

    (403) 388-6872

    ckirkby@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  48. David Knudsen

    Professor, Department Head

    (403) 220-8651

    knudsen@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  49. Justin Knudsen

    Mechanical Inst Design & Maint. Engineer

    jjknudse@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  50. Nicholas Koning

    Research Associate

    (403) 220-6059

    nakoning@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  51. Tracy Korsgaard

    Program Coordinator, Graduate Studies

    (403) 220-3617

    korsgaar@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  52. Robert Kosztyla

    Affiliated Position

    View profile

  53. Alexei Kouznetsov

    Physicist/Astronomer

    (403) 220-8519

    akouznet@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  54. Joel Kramer

    Remote Instrumentation Technician

    joel.kramer@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  55. Thomas Landecker

    Adjunct Professor

    tllandec@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  56. Phil Langill

    Director - Rothney Astrophysical Observatory

    (403) 220-5402

    pplangil@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  57. Bryson Lawton

    Research Assistant

    brlawton@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  58. Denis Leahy

    Professor

    (403) 220-7192

    leahy@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  59. Jun Liang

    Research Scientist

    (403) 220-6957

    liangj@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  60. Levan Lomidze

    Postdoctoral Associate

    (403) 220-8519

    levan.lomidze@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  61. Nancy Jing Lu

    IQIS Administrator

    (403) 220-4403

    nlu@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  62. Alexander Lvovsky

    Adjunct Professor

    lvov@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  63. Tim MacRae

    Technical

    (403) 220-8647

    macraet@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  64. Camilla Mascardo

    Administrative Assistant, Department Administration

    (403) 220-2061

    camilla.mascardo@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  65. Bernhard Mayer

    Adjunct Professor

    (403) 220-5389

    bmayer@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  66. Philip McGeachy

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    (403) 521-3139

    pdmcgeac@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  67. Neil Robert McGuffin

    Remote Instrumentation Technician

    (403) 220-6747

    nrmcguff@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  68. Nasser Moazzen-Ahmadi

    Professor

    (403) 220-5394

    (403) 220-8971

    nmoazzen@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  69. Ann-Lise Norman

    Professor

    (403) 220-5405

    alnorman@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  70. Daniel Oblak

    Assistant Professor

    (403) 220-7660

    doblak@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  71. Rachid Ouyed

    Professor

    (403) 210-8418

    rouyed@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  72. Jim Pake

    RAO Technician

    (403) 220-5411

    jpake@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  73. Alexandra Papparis

    RAO Education Assistant

    alexandra.papparis@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  74. Greg Pierce

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    greg.pierce@albertahealthservices.ca

    View profile

  75. Nicolas Ploquin

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    (403) 521-3749

    nploquin@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  76. Rene Plume

    Professor

    (403) 220-6909

    rplume@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  77. Joseph Postma

    UVIT Research Analyst

    (403) 220-6338

    jpostma@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  78. Thomas Prohaska

    Adjunct Professor

    thomas.prohaska@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  79. Alexandra Pulwicki

    Learning Assistant

    apulwick@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  80. Sarah Quirk

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    (403) 521-3139

    squirk@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  81. Christian Reuten

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    christian.reuten@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  82. Sherry Rogers

    Project Administrator

    (403) 220-8652

    sherry.rogers@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  83. Michael Roumeliotis

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    michael.roumeliotis@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  84. Barry Sanders

    Professor, Director Inst Quant Sci & Tech

    (403) 210-8462

    sandersb@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  85. Colleen Schinkel

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    colleen.schinkel@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  86. Christoph Simon

    Professor

    (403) 220-7007

    csimo@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  87. Wendy L. Smith

    Adjunct Associate Professor

    (403) 521-3422

    wsmith@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  88. Maryam Sohrabi

    Software Development Assistant

    sohrabm@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  89. Emma Louise Spanswick

    Assistant Professor, CRC Geospace Dyn & Space Plas

    (403) 220-6339

    elspansw@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  90. Jeroen Stil

    Associate Professor

    (403) 220-8015

    jstil@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  91. Sean Stotyn

    Instructor

    (403) 210-7594

    sean.stotyn@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  92. Mehrnoosh Tahani

    Research Assistant, Sessional Instructor

    (403) 220-3612

    mtahani@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  93. Suzanne Taylor

    Manager - Administrative Svcs, Department Administration

    (403) 220-4224

    stayl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  94. Ekaterina Tchistiakova

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    ekaterina.tchistiako@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  95. Kundan Thind

    Adjunct Professor

    kundan.thind@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  96. Wen Wu Tian

    Adjunct Professor

    wtian@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  97. Wolfgang Tittel

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    View profile

  98. Jules van Irsel

    Inst Design & Assembly Assistant

    jules.vanirsel@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  99. Carlos Villafuerte

    Project Administrator, Department Administrator

    (403) 210-7582

    cvillafu@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  100. Jose E. Villarreal-Barajas

    Adjunct Associate Professor

    (403) 521-3598

    jose.villarrealbaraj@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  101. Lukas Vollmerhaus

    Instrument Design & Maintenance Engineer

    (403) 220-4426

    ljvollme@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  102. Jessica Webber

    Project Coordinator

    jessica.webber@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  103. Helen Werner

    Undergraduate Prg. Coordinator, Undergraduate Studies

    (403) 220-8127

    hjwerner@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  104. Andrew Stuart White

    eSOC Software Engineer

    (403) 210-8998

    whiteas@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  105. Michael Wieser

    Associate Professor

    (403) 220-3641

    (403) 220-8273

    mwieser@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  106. Jianghua Wu

    RAO Remote Observer

    jianghua.wu@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  107. Bing Yang

    TREx Imaging Riometer Specialist

    (403) 220-6806

    biyang@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  108. Andrew Yau

    Professor

    (403) 220-8825

    yau@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  109. Brodie Yyelland

    Sessional Instructor

    brodie.yyelland@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  110. Jun Zhang

    Postdoctoral Associate

    jun.zhang1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  111. Wei Zheng

    Postdoctoral Associate

    wei.zheng@ucalgary.ca

    View profile