Fees and Funding


The Department of Computer Science provides a minimum funding of $23,000 per year for both PhD. and MSc (thesis based) students. The funding is guaranteed for a period of two years for MSc and for a period of four years for PhD. students. The funding is a mixture of a Graduate Assistant Teaching (GAT), supervisor support, and scholarships. In addition to the above funding, international graduate students receive Departmental Differential Fee Award to help them pay their Visa Differential Tuition Fee.

Financing grad school - what are the costs?

Understanding tuition and fees
Visit UCalgary's Faculty of Graduate studies to learn more about tuition and fees, how to pay, and when to pay.

Learn more about tuition and fees »

View your costs
Visit UCalgary's online calendar to see specific graduate student tuition and general fees costs.

View the calendar for detailed tuition and fees »

Examples of graduate student awards

Application Fee Relief

The Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Calgary is offering application fee relief to select students in high academic standing from the following two groups: a) those who are experiencing strong financial burden; b) members of underrepresented groups in physics and astronomy, including but not limited to women, Indigenous persons, Black persons, and persons with disabilities.   To be considered for this application fee relief, you must submit these documents no later than Dec. 15, 2020.

Find out how to apply

Graduate Award Competition

Includes Open Doctoral Scholarships, the Izaak Walton Killam Doctoral Scholarships, the Alberta Innovates Graduate Student Scholarships, and Special Awards. Scholarship value: Up to $36,000.

Learn more about applying for this competition

Entrance Awards

The Faculty of Graduate Studies offers awards to new students through the annual Entrance Competition. To be eligible, you cannot have started your program prior to taking up the award. Scholarship value: Up to $35,000.

Learn more about applying for this competition