Department of Computer Science

Main department contact information

Location and mailing address

Dept. of Computer Science

602 ICT Building 
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW 
Calgary, AB, T2N 1N4
CANADA

Office opening hours

Monday to Friday:
8:30am - 12:00pm 
1:00pm - 4:30pm

 

Get in Touch


Undergraduate Email:

cpsc@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

Graduate Email:

cpscappl@ucalgary.ca

Data Science Program Email:

datascience@ucalgary.ca

Information Security Program Email:

informationsecurity@ucalgary.ca

All Phone Inquiries:

+1 (403) 220-6015

Department Head

Christian Jacob

Christian Jacob

+1 (403) 220-7682
cjacob@ucalgary.ca

View profile »

  1. Reda Alhajj (Elhajj)

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9453
    alhajj@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Usman Alim

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-4362
    ualim@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. John Aycock

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9409
    aycock@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Ken Barker

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-8497
    kbarker@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Jeffrey Boyd

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6038
    jboyd@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Sheelagh Carpendale

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6055
    sheelagh@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  7. Robin Cockett

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-5106
    robin@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  8. Mario Costa Sousa

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6783
    smcosta@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  9. Jorg Denzinger

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-5574
    denzinge@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  10. Wayne Eberly

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-5073
    eberly@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  11. Pavol Federl

    Instructor
    +1 (403) 220-5103
    pfederl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  12. Philip Fong

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 210-6229
    pwlfong@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  13. Marina Gavrilova

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-5105
    mgavrilo@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  14. Majid Ghaderi

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-3855
    mghaderi@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  15. Ryan Henry

    Assistant Professor
    +1 (403) 210-6307
    ryan.henry@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  16. Peter Hoyer

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9468
    hoyer@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  17. Christian Jacob

    Bioinformatics Program Director; Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9846
    cjacob@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  18. Michael John Jacobson Jr

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9410
    jacobs@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  19. Jalal Kawash

    Teaching Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6619
    jkawash@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  20. Leonard Manzara

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 220-3518
    manzara@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  21. Frank Maurer

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-3531
    fmaurer@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  22. Lora Oehlberg

    Assistant Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-7711
    lora.oehlberg@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  23. Przemyslaw Prusinkiewicz

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-5494
    pprusink@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  24. Joel Reardon

    Assistant Professor 
    +1 (403) 210-6105
    joel.reardon@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  25. Jon Rokne

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-6016
    rokne@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  26. Guenther Ruhe

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-7692
    ruhe@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  27. Reyhaneh Safavi-Naeini

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 210-5492
    rei@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  28. Faramarz Samavati

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 210-9454
    samavati@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  29. Renate Scheidler

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-6628
    rscheidl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  30. Ehud Sharlin

    Associate Professor 
    +1 (403) 210-9404
    ehud@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  31. Benjamin Stephenson

    Teaching Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6781
    bdstephe@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  32. James Tam

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 210-9455
    tam@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  33. Anthony Tang

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 210-6912
    tonyt@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  34. Nathaly Verwaal

    Senior Instructor 
    +1 (403) 210-8485
    nmverwaa@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  35. Robert James Walker

    Associate Professor 
    +1 (403) 210-9593
    walker@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  36. Mea Wang

    Associate Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-6785
    meawang@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  37. Wesley Willett

    Assistant Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-2463
    wesley.willett@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  38. Carey Williamson

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-6780
    cwill@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  39. Philipp Woelfel

    Associate Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-7259
    woelfel@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  40. Nelson Wong

    Instructor  
    +1 (403) 210-8483
    nelson@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Nathaly Verwaal

    Assistant Head - Undergraduate Affairs

    Senior Instructor 
    +1 (403) 210-8485
    nmverwaa@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Jeff Boyd

    Associate Head - Graduate Affairs

    Associate Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-6038
    boyd@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

     

  3. Marina Gavrilova

    Associate Head - Research and Strategic Planning

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-5105
    mgavrilo@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Jalal Kawash

    Associate Head - Teaching & Learning and Student Engagement

    Teaching Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-6619
    jkawash@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Lora Oehlberg

    Associate Head - Communications and Outreach

    Assistant Professor
    +1 (403) 220-7711

    lora.oehlberg@ucalgary.ca

     

  6. Nelson Wong

    Associate Head - Undergraduate Teaching and Learning

    Instructor
    +1 (403) 210-8483
    nelson@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  7. Ehud Sharlin

    Assistant Head - Prospective Graduate Students

    Professor 
    +1 (403) 210-9404
    ehud@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

     

  8. Majid Ghaderi

    Assistant Head - Existing Graduate Students

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-3855
    mghaderi@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  9. Mario Costa Sousa

    Assistant Head - Chair of Graduate Scholarships and Awards

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6783
    smcosta@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  10. Benjamin Stephenson

    Associate Head - Operations

    Teaching Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6781
    bdstephe@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  11. Pavol Federl

    Assistant Head - Academic Integrity

    Instructor

    +1 (403) 220-5103

    pfederl@ucalgary.ca

     

  1. Catherine Cummings

    Undergrad program Coordinator   
    +1 (403) 220-6015
    cummingc@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Jackie Hunt

    Graduate Administrative Assistant
    +1 (403) 220-3528
    jhunt@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Erin Moloney

    Administrative Assistant
    +1 (403) 220-3604
    moloney@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Mitra Mottaghi

    Research Admin Support
    +1 (403) 220-6194
    mitra.mottaghi1@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Maryam Salamati

    Graduate Program Coordinator
    +1 (403) 220-3529
    msalamat@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Beverley Shevchenko

    Manager - Administrative Services
    +1 (403) 220-3537
    beverley@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  7. Courtney Wright

    Undergrad Program Coordinator
    +1 (403) 220-6092
    cwrig@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Claudia Maurer

    Coordinator
    +1 (403) 220-6546
    claudia.maurer@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Kornelia Streb

    Res Associate Software Engineering
    +1 (403) 210-5438
    kstreb@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Carey Thacker

    Graduate program Coordinator
    +1 (403) 210-7495
    carey.thacker@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Catherine Cummings

    Undergrad program Coordinator   
    +1 (403) 210-6015
    cummingc@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Courtney Wright

    Undergrad Program Coordinator
    +1 (403) 220-6092
    cwrig@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Leonard Manzara

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 220-3518
    manzara@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. James Tam

    Note:  Currently on sabbatical

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 210-9455
    tam@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Jackie Hunt

    Administrative Assistant
    +1 (403) 220-3528
    jhunt@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Maryam Salamati

    Graduate Program Coordinator
    +1 (403) 220-3529
    msalamat@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Leonard Manzara

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 220-3518
    manzara@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. James Tam

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 210-9455
    tam@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Martin Arlitt

    Adjunct Assistant Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9482
    marlitt@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Yasin Hajizadeh

    Adjunct Associate Professor
    yhajizad@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Thomas Patrick Keenan

    Adjunct Professor
    +1 (403) 220-7437
    keenan@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Peter Vize

    Adjunct Professor
    +1 (403) 220-8502
    pvize@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Thomas Zimmermann

    Adjunct Assistant Professor
    tmjzimme@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Graham Mark Birtwistle

    Professor Emeritus
    graham@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. James Bradley

    Professor Emeritus
    jbradley@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Michael Alan Brebner

    Associate Professor Emeritus
    brebner@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Anton Willem Colijn

    Professor Emeritus
    colijn@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Donna Jean Fremont

    Senior Instructor Emeritus
    fremont@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Brian Ronald Gaines

    Professor Emeritus
    fremont@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  7. Saul Greenberg

    Professor Emeritus
    +1 (403) 220-6087
    saul@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

     

  8. Lisa Higham

    Professor Emeritus
    +1 (403) 220-7696
    higham@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  9. David Roderic Hill

    Professor Emeritus
    hilld@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  10. Ernest John Michael Kendall

    Professor Emeritus
    jkendall@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  11. Kenneth David Loose

    Associate Professor Emeritus
    kdloose@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  12. Mildred Louise Gill Shaw

    Professor Emeritus
    mlgshaw@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  13. Brian William Unger

    Professor Emeritus
    unger@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  14. Michael Roy Williams

    Professor Emeritus
    mwilliam@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  15. Brian Leslie Maurice Wyvill

    Professor Emeritus
    blob@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Gloria Visser-Niven

    Director, Marketing and Communications
    +1 (403) 220-7056

    gvissern@ucalgary.ca

  1. Mea Wang, chair

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6785
    meawang@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Wayne Eberly

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-5073
    eberly@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Ryan Hamilton

    (Data Science)
    Instructor
    +1 (403) 220-3950
    rhamilt@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Guenther Ruhe

    (Software Engineering)
    Professor
    +1 (403)  220-7692
    ruhe@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Nathaly Verwaal

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 210-8485
    nmverwaa@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Nelson Wong

    Instructor
    +1 (403) 210-8483
    nelson@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  7. Catherine Cummings

    Undergraduate program Coordinator   
    +1 (403) 210-6015
    cummingc@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  8. Gerald Vaselenak

    Technical Systems Analyst
    +1 (403) 220-7250
    gerald@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  9. Courtney Wright

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator
    +1 (403) 220-6092
    cwrig@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  10. Raymond Tran

    Undergraduate
    raymond.tran1@ucalgary.ca

  11. Reza Gholizadeh

    Graduate
    rgholizadeh@gmail.com

  1. Mea Wang, chair

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6785
    meawang@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Benjamin Stephenson

    Teaching Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6781
    bdstephe@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Guenther Ruhe

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-7692
    ruhe@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Nathaly Verwaal

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 210-8485
    nmverwaa@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Carey Williamson

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6780
    cwill@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Philipp Woelfel

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-7259
    woelfel@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  7. Courtney Wright

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator
    +1 (403) 220-6092
    cwrig@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  8. Alfath Zikir

    Undergraduate
    alfath.zikir1@ucalgary.ca

  9. Shreya Chopra

    Graduate
    shreya.chopra@ucalgary.ca

  1. Jeff Boyd, chair

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6038
    boyd@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

     

  2. Mario Costa Sousa

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6783
    smcosta@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Jorg Denzinger

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-5574
    denzinge@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Philip Fong

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 210-6229
    pwlfong@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Majid Ghaderi

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-3855
    mghaderi@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Joel Reardon

    Assistant Professor
    +1 (403) 210-6105
    joel.reardon@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  7. Reyhaneh Safavi-Naeini

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-5492
    rei@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  8. Ehud Sharlin

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9404
    ehud@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Marina Gavrilova, chair

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-5105
    mgavrilo@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Usman Alim

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-4362
    ualim@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Przemyslaw Prusinkiewicz

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-5494
    pwp@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Joel Reardon

    Assistant Professor
    +1 (403) 210-6105
    joel.reardon@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Reyhaneh Safavi-Naeini

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-5492
    rei@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Ehud Sharlin

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9404
    ehud@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  7. James Tam

    Senior Instructor
    +1 (403) 210-9455
    tam@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  8. Carey Williamson

    Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6780
    cwill@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Michael J. Jacobson Jr., chair

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9410
    jacobs@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Pavol Federl

    Instructor
    +1 (403) 220-5103
    pfederl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Darcy Grant

    Solutions Delivery Lead
    +1 (403) 220-6786
    darcy@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Lora Oelhberg

    Assistant Professor
    +1 (403) 220-7711
    lora.oehlberg@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Mea Wang

    Associate Professor
    +1 (403) 220-6785
    meawang@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Lora Oehlberg, chair

    Assistant Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-7711
    lora.oehlberg@ucalgary.ca

     

  2. Usman Alim

    Associate Professor 
    +1 (403) 220-4362
    ualim@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Pavol Federl

    Instructor 
    +1 (403) 220-5103
    pfederl@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

     

  4. Leonard Manzara

    Senior Instructor 
    +1 (403) 220-3518
    manzara@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  1. Jeff Boyd, chair

    Associate Professor 
    +1 (403)
    220-6038
    jboyd@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Michael J. Jacobson Jr.

    Professor
    +1 (403) 210-9410
    jacobs@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Darcy Grant

    Solutions Delivery Lead
    +1 (403) 220-6786
    darcy@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Beverley Shevchenko

    Manager, Administrative Services
    +1 (403)
    220-3537
    beverley@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Scott Ratzlaff

    Technical Systems Analyst
    sdratzla@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Tyson Kendon

    PhD Graduate Student
    tjkendon@ucalgary.ca