Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.

Leadership

Bernhard Mayer

Bernhard Mayer

Interim Dean

Cindy Graham, Vice-Dean

Cindy Graham

Vice-Dean

Cathy Ryan

Cathy Ryan

Associate Dean - Research and Graduate Education

Nancy Chibry

Nancy Chibry

Associate Dean - Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs

Wendy Benoit, Associate Dean, Teaching, Learning, and Student Experience

Wendy Benoit

Associate Dean - Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement

Frank Maurer, Associate Dean, Innovation and Strategic Partnerships

Frank Maurer

Associate Dean - Innovation and Strategic Partnerships

 

 

Bernhard Mayer
Interim Dean
(403) 220-5389
BI 540
bmayer@ucalgary.ca

Cindy Graham
Vice-Dean
(403) 210-8822
BI 540
cmgraham@ucalgary.ca

Wendy Benoit
Associate Dean
(Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement)

(403) 220-3293
BI 540
wlbenoit@ucalgary.ca

Nancy Chibry
Associate Dean
(Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs)

(403) 220-3593
BI 540
n.chibry@ucalgary.ca

Frank Maurer
Associate Dean
(Innovation and Strategic Partnerships)

(403) 220-3531
BI 535
fmaurer@ucalgary.ca

Cathy Ryan
Associate Dean
(Research and Graduate Education)

(403) 220-3293
BI 540
cryan@ucalgary.ca

Stacey Chow
Executive Assistant to the Dean and Vice-Dean
(403) 220-4653
BI 540
stacey@ucalgary.ca

FOR GENERAL (NON-STUDENT ADVISING) INQUIRIES:
(please note that due to COVID-19 we are working remotely and are available via emails listed below)

Department of Biological Sciences
Biological Science Building 186
biosci@ucalgary.ca

Department of Chemistry
Science A Building 229
chem.info@ucalgary.ca

Department of Computer Science
ICT Building 602
cpsc@ucalgary.ca

Department of Geoscience
Earth Sciences Building 118
geoscience@ucalgary.ca

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Math Sciences Building 476
mathadmin@ucalgary.ca

Department of Physics and Astronomy
Science B Building 605
phasoffice@ucalgary.ca

For any undergraduate student advising please use the following Undergraduate Science Centre (USC) contact information:

Emails:

Virtual front desk at 403-220-8600

Undergraduate Science Centre website
Office Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday:  9am - 12pm & 1pm - 4pm
Thursday:  1pm - 4pm

View list of USC staff

For any graduate student advising please use the following Graduate Science Centre (GSC) contact information:

---------------------------------------------------------------
Questions about our MSc and PhD programs? 
email us at: sci.grad@ucalgary.ca
---------------------------------------------------------------
Questions about our Professional Certificate, Diploma, and Master programs?

  • Data Science and Analytics
  • Information Security
  • Game Production

email us at:  prograd.science@ucalgary.ca
---------------------------------------------------------------

Graduate Science Centre website
Office hours:  Monday to Friday:  8:30am - 12pm & 1pm - 4:30pm

View list of GSC staff

Research and Administrative Services Manager

Suzanne Taylor
stayl@ucalgary.ca

View full list of Research and Administrative Services Staff

--------------------------------------

Research and Awards

Rhian Gunn
Research Facilitator
rgunn@ucalgary.ca

Heather Clitheroe
International Coordinator
hjclithe@ucalgary.ca

Becky Leung
Senior Data Specialist
becky.leung@ucalgary.ca

Jessica Kerr
Senior Data Specialist
On Maternity Leave

--------------------------------------

Business Operations

Melissa Wrubleski
Manager
mwrubles@ucalgary.ca

Please contact the Business Operations Team at sci.researchucalgary.ca for all areas supporting:

  • HR
  • Finance
  • Research (pre and post-award)

--------------------------------------

Department Contacts
For general (non-student advising() inquiries

(please note that due to COVID-19 we are working remotely and are available via emails listed below)

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SHOPS

Technical Support Services Manager

Michelle Forgeron
mamforge@ucalgary.ca

-----------------------------

Workshop
Location: SA 07
sciwksp@ucalgary.ca
220.5576
Hours: 8am - 4pm
Staff: Todd Willis, Jay McIssac, Nik Hamilton, Jason St. Louis
Visit website

Glassblowing
Location:  SA 09
sciglass@ucalgary.ca
220.5578
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Mark Toonen
Visit website

Electronics
Location: SA 013
scielectronics@ucalgary.ca
220.5371
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Richard Galambos, Duncan Hanna, Jimmy Omar
Visit website

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Science Stores
Location: SB 050
scistores@ucalgary.ca
220.5351
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Magdi Khalil, Nelson Cruz
Visit website

Chemistry Instrumentation Facility
Location: SB 134
mamforge@ucalgary.ca
220.5359
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Wade White, Jian Jun (Johnson) Li, Michelle Thibault
Visit website

Chemistry X-ray Facility
Location: SB 328
xray@ucalgary.ca
220.7176
Hours 8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Ben Gelfand
Visit website

GeoScience Instrumentation Group
Robert Marr (rmarr@ucalgary.ca); Julia Pickering (jepicker@ucalgary.ca)

Greenhouse Group
Dianne White (whited@ucalgary.ca); Cheyenne Kiani (cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca)
220.5233

Technical Space Specialist
Marc Wrubleski (mlwruble@ucalgary.ca) and scispace@ucalgary.ca

Technical Support Services Admin
Cathy Bartsch (cbartsch@ucalgary.ca)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

View list of Technical Operations Group staff members

 

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager
Lynne Maillet
maillet@ucalgary.ca


BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Arminty Clarke
aclarke@ucalgary.ca

Spomenka Curic
scuric@ucalgary.ca

Francene Cusack
fcusack@ucalgary.ca

Kelly Teal Dunwald
kteal@ucalgary.ca

Paulette Harrison
pmharris@ucalgary.ca

Louise Haln
lhahn@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Kearley
kearley@ucalgary.ca

Karen Li
kwli@ucalgary.ca

Brant Pohorelic
bkjpohor@ucalgary.ca

John Swann
jeswann@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

CHEMISTRY

Jill Howell-Helfer
jhelfer@ucalgary.ca

Zahid Mahimwalla
zahid.mahimwalla@ucalgary.ca

Nicholas Oakley
nicholas.oakley@ucalgary.ca

Dion Rock
dion.rock@ucalgary.ca

Patrick Yu
pyu@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY

Zain Ahmed
zain.ahmed2@ucalgary.ca

Wesley Ernst
wernst@ucalgary.ca

Peter Gimby
pgimby@ucalgary.ca

James Pake
jpake@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE

Farzin Malekani
fmalekan@ucalgary.ca

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager
Lynne Maillet
maillet@ucalgary.ca

Manager, Experiential Learning
(Computer Science, Geoscience, Mathematics & Statistics)
Farzin Malekani
fmalekan@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------------

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Cynthia Yip
cyip@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------------

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Danny Glin
dlglin@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------------

GEOSCIENCE

Carmen Chinery
cachiner@ucalgary.ca

Elyssa Lynn
celynn@ucalgary.ca

Eric Mott
eric.mott@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------------

MATHEMATICS AND STATISTICS

Danny Glin
dlglin@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------------

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY

Jennifer Howse
jihowse@ucalgary.ca
Rothney Astrophysical Observatory
 

Coral Burns
Web Analyst
burnsc@ucalgary.ca

Erin Guiltenane
Communications Advisor
eguilten@ucalgary.ca

Melody Harris
Communications and Events Coordinator
wenet@ucalgary.ca

Silvia Kallen
Development - Associate Director
silvia.kallen@ucalgary.ca

Rin Kobayashi-Wong
Development - Fundraising Coordinator
rin.kobayashiwong@ucalgary.ca

Gloria Visser-Niven
Marketing and Communications Director
gvissern@ucalgary.ca

 

Kelsey Buck
Human Resources - Advisor
kelsey.buck@ucalgary.ca

Anita Chan-Lem
Finance Analyst
anita.chanlem@ucalgary.ca

Molly Chisholm
Laboratory Safety Advisor
mchishol@ucalgary.ca

Jenny De Los Santos
Human Resources - Advisor Academic
jdeloss@ucalgary.ca

Marianne Furdievich
Human Resources Partner
marianne.furdievich@ucalgary.ca

Katie MacInnis
Finance Partner
katie.macinnis@ucalgary.ca

Cory Yost
Manager, Technical Services
cory.yost@ucalgary.ca

Gloria Visser-Niven
Marketing and Communications Director
gvissern@ucalgary.ca

Coral Burns
Web Analyst
burnsc@ucalgary.ca

Erin Guiltenane
Communications Advisor
eguilten@ucalgary.ca

Melody Harris
Communications and Events Coordinator
wenet@ucalgary.ca

----------------------------------------

Events, Communications and Marketing Request Form

  • If you have identified a need and support for marketing, events or student related activities, please complete the following request form to start the process of working together.

 

 

 

Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.