Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.

Leadership

Kristin Baetz, Dean

Kristin Baetz

Dean
 

Stephen Hubbard

Stephen Hubbard

VIce-Dean
 

Dr. Mark Bauer

Mark Bauer

Interim Associate Dean - Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement

Nancy Chibry

Nancy Chibry

Associate Dean - Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs

Kris Innanen

Kris Innanen

Associate Dean - Research
 

Pierre Kennepohl

Pierre Kennepohl

Interim Associate Dean - Innovation and Strategic Partnerships

Dr. Justin MacCallum

Justin MacCallum

Associate Dean - Graduate and Post-Doctoral Scholars

Kristin Baetz
Dean
(403) 220-3293
kristin.baetz@ucalgary.ca


Stephen Hubbard
Vice-Dean
shubbard@ucalgary.ca


Mark Bauer
Interim Associate Dean
(Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement)
bauerm@ucalgary.ca


Nancy Chibry
Associate Dean
(Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs)
(403) 220-3593
n.chibry@ucalgary.ca


Kris Innanen
Associate Dean
(Research)
k.innanen@ucalgary.ca


Pierre Kennepohl
Interim Associate Dean
(Innovation and Strategic Partnerships)
pierre.kennepohl@ucalgary.ca


Justin MacCallum
Associate Dean
(Graduate and Post-Doctoral Scholars)
justin.maccallum@ucalgary.ca


Stacey Chow
Executive Assistant to the Dean and Vice-Dean
(403) 220-4653
stacey@ucalgary.ca


Carmen Sheridan
Director, Operations
carmen.sheridan@ucalgary.ca


Joann Weston
Operations Administrator
jweston@ucalgary.ca

FOR GENERAL (NON-STUDENT ADVISING) INQUIRIES:
 

Department of Biological Sciences
Biological Science Building 186
biosci@ucalgary.ca

------------------------------------------------

Department of Chemistry
Science B 605
chem.info@ucalgary.ca

------------------------------------------------

Department of Computer Science
ICT Building 602
cpsc@ucalgary.ca

------------------------------------------------

Department of Earth, Energy, and Environment
Earth Sciences Building 118
earth@ucalgary.ca

------------------------------------------------

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Math Sciences Building 476
mathadmin@ucalgary.ca

------------------------------------------------

Department of Physics and Astronomy
Science B 605
phasoffice@ucalgary.ca

For any undergraduate student advising please use the following Undergraduate Science Centre (USC) contact information:

Emails:

Virtual front desk at 403-220-8600

For current office hours please visit the: Undergraduate Science Centre website

For any graduate student advising please use the following Graduate Science Centre (GSC) contact information:

Location: We are located in Science A 229 (2nd Floor).

Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday  9:00 am - 4:00 pm

Academic programs (thesis-based and course-based): sci.grad@ucalgary.ca

Professional programs: prograd.science@ucalgary.ca

For Research and Administrative Services contact information and job portfolios, please refer to pages 14-18 of the Faculty of Science Operational Excellence (Business Units - Portfolio Profiles) PDF document

Business Operations:  If you are a faculty or staff member and have a service request, question or inquiry concerning HR, Finance or Research please visit our new Business Operations web page to see how to submit a service ticket.  You may also contact us at sci.borg@ucalgary.ca.

 

Research and Awards

Rhian Gunn
Research Facilitator
rgunn@ucalgary.ca


Heather Clitheroe
International Coordinator
hjclithe@ucalgary.ca
 

Danielle Demiantschuk
Awards Specialist
danielle.demiantschu@ucalgary.ca
 

Mehdi Karamollahi
Senior Data Specialist
mehdi.karamollahi@ucalgary.ca



Business Operations

If you are a faculty or staff member and have a service request, question or inquiry concerning HR, Finance or Research please visit our Business Operations web page to see how to submit a service ticket.   You may also contact us at sci.borg@ucalgary.ca.


Department Contacts
For general (non-student advising() inquiries

Manager – Technical Support Services 
Michelle Forgeron
mamforge@ucalgary.ca


SCIENCE TECHNICAL SHOPS

Workshop
Location: SA 07
sciwksp@ucalgary.ca
220.5576
Visit website
 

Glassblowing
Location:  SA 09
sciglass@ucalgary.ca
220.5578
Visit website
 

Electronics
Location: SA 013
scielectronics@ucalgary.ca
220.5371
Visit website

 

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Science Stores
Location: SB 050
scistores@ucalgary.ca
220.5351
Visit website
 

Chemistry Instrumentation Facility
Location: SB 134
chem.instrumentation@ucalgary.ca
220.5359
Visit website


Chemistry X-ray Facility
Location: SB 328
wen.zhou1@ucalgary.ca
Staff: Wen Zhou
Visit website


Geoscience Instrumentation Group
Kamran Javed (Kamran.Javed@ucalgary.ca)


Greenhouse Group
Cheyenne Kiani (cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca)


Technical Support Services Admin
Cathy Bartsch (cbartsch@ucalgary.ca)


Core Facilities Assistant
Erika Branagh (erika.branagh@ucalgary.ca)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

View list of Technical Operations Group staff members

The ULS is comprised of a team of multidisciplinary technicians providing direct support for teaching labs in Science.

Please email Farzin Malekani (Undergraduate Learning Services Manager) if you have a support request or question.

---

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager
Farzin Malekani
fmalekan@ucalgary.ca

Technical Specialist 
Daniel Larson
dlarson@ucalgary.ca


BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Jenny Bourdage
Jennifer.Bourdage@ucalgary.ca

Arminty Clarke
aclarke@ucalgary.ca

Spomenka Curic
scuric@ucalgary.ca

Francene Cusack
fcusack@ucalgary.ca

Louise Haln
lhahn@ucalgary.ca

Paulette Harrison
pmharris@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Kearley
kearley@ucalgary.ca

Cheyenne Kiani
cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca

Karen Li
kwli@ucalgary.ca

Brant Pohorelic
bkjpohor@ucalgary.ca

John Swann
jeswann@ucalgary.ca

Kelly Teal Dunwald
kteal@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

CHEMISTRY

Jill Howell-Helfer
jhelfer@ucalgary.ca

Zahid Mahimwalla
zahid.mahimwalla@ucalgary.ca

Nicholas Oakley
nicholas.oakley@ucalgary.ca

Dion Rock
dion.rock@ucalgary.ca

Patrick Yu
pyu@ucalgary.ca

Jesse Yuzik
jesse.yuzik@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Gerald Vaselenak
gerald@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE

Daniel Larson
dlarson@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

EARTH, ENERGY, AND ENVIRONMENT

Wing Chan
chanwc@ucalgary.ca

Carmen Chinery
cachiner@ucalgary.ca

Elyssa Lynn
celynn@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

MATHEMATICS AND STATISTICS

Danny Glin
dlglin@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY

Peter Gimby
pgimby@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Howse
jihowse@ucalgary.ca
Rothney Astrophysical Observatory

Courtney Kruschel
clkrusch@ucalgary.ca

James Pake
jpake@ucalgary.ca

Pouya Pourkarim
pouya.pourkarim@ucalgary.ca

 

For media related inquiries, please contact Owen Stockden (Director of Marketing and Communications) at owen.stockden@ucalgary.ca or Nadine Sander-Green (Senior External Communications Advisor) at nadine.sandergreen@ucalgary.ca

If you are a faculty or staff member, or represent a student group, and have a marketing or communications related inquiry or question, please contact scicomms@ucalgary.ca.  If you have identified a need and support for a marketing, event or student related activity, please complete our Events, Communications and Marketing request form to start the process of working together.

--------------------------------------------------

Silvia Kallen
Director of Development
silvia.kallen@ucalgary.ca


Owen Stockden
Director of Marketing and Communications
owen.stockden@ucalgary.ca|


Sarah Bartlett
Communications Advisor
sbartlet@ucalgary.ca


Coral Burns
Web Analyst
burnsc@ucalgary.ca
 

Jessica Faulds
Associate Director of Development
jessica.faulds@ucalgary.ca


Melody Harris
Communications and Events Coordinator
wenet@ucalgary.ca
 

Nadine Sander-Green
Senior External Communications Advisor
nadine.sandergreen@ucalgary.ca


Josiah Taundi
Graphic Designer
josiah.taundi@ucalgary.ca


Ivan Touko
Development Coordinator
ivan.touko@ucalgary.ca

General Contact Email
scispace@ucalgary.ca

Manager - Capital Planning and Infrastructure
Paul Chypiska
paul.chypiska@ucalgary.ca

Infrastructure Technical Specialist
Wesley Ernst
wernst@ucalgary.ca

Infrastructure Technical Specialist
Marc Wrubleski
mlwruble@ucalgary.ca

 

Wayne Broughton
Finance Partner
wayne.broughton@ucalgary.ca

Anita Chan-Lem
Finance Analyst
anita.chanlem@ucalgary.ca

Chris Pinter
Occupational Health and Safety Consultant
cjpinter@ucalgary.ca

Cory Yost
Manager, Technical Services
cory.yost@ucalgary.ca

Johanna Zaal DeLongchamp
Lab Safety Specialist
jmzaalde@ucalgary.ca

For media related inquiries, please contact Owen Stockden (Director of Marketing and Communications) at owen.stockden@ucalgary.ca or Nadine Sander-Green (Senior External Communications Advisor) at nadine.sandergreen@ucalgary.ca

If you are a faculty or staff member, or represent a student group, and have a marketing or communications related inquiry or question, please contact scicomms@ucalgary.ca.  If you have identified a need and support for a marketing, event or student related activity, please complete our Events, Communications and Marketing request form to start the process of working together.

---------------------------------------------

Events, Communications and Marketing Team

Owen Stockden
Director, of Marketing and Communications
owen.stockden@ucalgary.ca

Sarah Bartlett
Communications Advisor
sbartlet@ucalgary.ca

Coral Burns
Web Analyst
burnsc@ucalgary.ca

Melody Harris
Communications and Events Coordinator
wenet@ucalgary.ca

Nadine Sander-Green
Senior External Communications Advisor
nadine.sandergreen@ucalgary.ca

Josiah Taundi
Graphic Designer
josiah.taundi@ucalgary.ca

 

Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.