Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.

Leadership

Kristin Baetz, Dean

Kristin Baetz

Dean
 

Stephen Hubbard

Stephen Hubbard

VIce-Dean
 

Wendy Benoit

Wendy Benoit

Associate Dean - Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement

Nancy Chibry

Nancy Chibry

Associate Dean - Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs

Kris Innanen

Kris Innanen

Interim Associate Dean - Research
 

Pierre Kennepohl

Pierre Kennepohl

Interim Associate Dean - Innovation and Strategic Partnerships

Dr. Justin MacCallum

Justin MacCallum

Associate Dean - Graduate and Post-Doctoral Scholars

Frank Maurer

Frank Maurer

Associate Dean - Innovation and Strategic Partnerships (on leave)

 

 

Kristin Baetz
Dean
(403) 220-3293
kristin.baetz@ucalgary.ca


Stephen Hubbard
Vice-Dean
shubbard@ucalgary.ca


Wendy Benoit
Associate Dean
(Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement)

(403) 220-3293
wlbenoit@ucalgary.ca


Nancy Chibry
Associate Dean
(Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs)

(403) 220-3593
n.chibry@ucalgary.ca


Kris Innanen
Associate Dean
(Research)

k.innanen@ucalgary.ca


Pierre Kennepohl
Interim Associate Dean
(Innovation and Strategic Partnerships)

pierre.kennepohl@ucalgary.ca


Justin MacCallum
Associate Dean
(Graduate and Post-Doctoral Scholars)

justin.maccallum@ucalgary.ca


Frank Maurer (on leave)
Associate Dean
(Innovation and Strategic Partnerships)

fmaurer@ucalgary.ca


Stacey Chow
Executive Assistant to the Dean and Vice-Dean
(403) 220-4653
stacey@ucalgary.ca


Carmen Sheridan
Director, Operations
carmen.sheridan@ucalgary.ca


Chadwick Dawes
Operations Administrator
cdawes@ucalgary.ca
 

FOR GENERAL (NON-STUDENT ADVISING) INQUIRIES:
 

Department of Biological Sciences
Biological Science Building 186
biosci@ucalgary.ca


Department of Chemistry
Science B Building 605
chem.info@ucalgary.ca


Department of Computer Science
ICT Building 602
cpsc@ucalgary.ca


Department of Geoscience
Earth Sciences Building 118
geoscience@ucalgary.ca


Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Math Sciences Building 476
mathadmin@ucalgary.ca


Department of Physics and Astronomy
Science B Building 605
phasoffice@ucalgary.ca

For any undergraduate student advising please use the following Undergraduate Science Centre (USC) contact information:

Emails:

Virtual front desk at 403-220-8600

For current office hours please visit the: Undergraduate Science Centre website

For any graduate student advising please use the following Graduate Science Centre (GSC) contact information:

Location: We are located in Science A 229 (2nd Floor).

Front Desk Hours: Monday-Tuesday and Thursday-Friday  9am-12pm and 1-4 pm.

Closed on Wednesdays


Academic programs (thesis-based and course-based): sci.grad@ucalgary.ca

Professional programs: prograd.science@ucalgary.ca

Research and Administrative Services Manager

Suzanne Munroe
suzanne.munroe@ucalgary.ca

For Research and Administrative Services contact information and job portfolios, please refer to pages 14-18 of the Faculty of Science Operational Excellence (Business Units - Portfolio Profiles) PDF document

Business Operations:  If you are a faculty or staff member and have a service request, question or inquiry concerning HR, Finance or Research please visit our new Business Operations web page to see how to submit a service ticket.  You may also contact us at sci.borg@ucalgary.ca.

 

Research and Awards

Rhian Gunn
Research Facilitator
rgunn@ucalgary.ca


Heather Clitheroe
International Coordinator
hjclithe@ucalgary.ca
 

Danielle Demiantschuk
Awards Specialist
danielle.demiantschu@ucalgary.ca
 

Jessica Schnell
(on leave)
Senior Data Specialist
jessica.schnell@ucalgary.ca



Business Operations

Melissa Wrubleski
Manager
mwrubles@ucalgary.ca

If you are a faculty or staff member and have a service request, question or inquiry concerning HR, Finance or Research please visit our Business Operations web page to see how to submit a service ticket.   You may also contact us at sci.borg@ucalgary.ca.


Department Contacts
For general (non-student advising() inquiries

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SHOPS

Manager – Technical Support Services

Marc Wrubleski
mlwruble@ucalgary.ca


Workshop
Location: SA 07
sciwksp@ucalgary.ca
220.5576
Visit website
 

Glassblowing
Location:  SA 09
sciglass@ucalgary.ca
220.5578
Visit website
 

Electronics
Location: SA 013
scielectronics@ucalgary.ca
220.5371
Visit website

 

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Science Stores
Location: SB 050
scistores@ucalgary.ca
220.5351
Visit website
 

Chemistry Instrumentation Facility
Location: SB 134
chem.instrumentation@ucalgary.ca
220.5359
Visit website


Chemistry X-ray Facility
Location: SB 328
wen.zhou1@ucalgary.ca
Staff: Wen Zhou
Visit website


Geoscience Instrumentation Group
Robert Marr (rmarr@ucalgary.ca); Kamran Javed (Kamran.Javed@ucalgary.ca)


Greenhouse Group
Dianne White (whited@ucalgary.ca); Cheyenne Kiani (cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca)
220.5233

Infrastructure Technical Specialist
Paul Chypiska (paul.chypiska@ucalgary.ca)


Space Technical Specialist
Kevin Friel (kevin.friel1@ucalgary.ca) and scispace@ucalgary.ca


Technical Support Services Admin
Cathy Bartsch (cbartsch@ucalgary.ca)


Core Facilities Assistant
Erika Branagh (erika.branagh@ucalgary.ca)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

View list of Technical Operations Group staff members

The ULS is comprised of a team of multidisciplinary technicians providing direct support for teaching labs in Science.

Please email Farzin Malekani (Undergraduate Learning Services Manager) if you have a support request or question.

---

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager
Farzin Malekani
fmalekan@ucalgary.ca


Manager, Experiential Learning
(Computer Science, Geoscience, Mathematics & Statistics)
Position currently vacant


BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Jenny Bourdage
Jennifer.Bourdage@ucalgary.ca

Arminty Clarke
aclarke@ucalgary.ca

Spomenka Curic
scuric@ucalgary.ca

Francene Cusack
fcusack@ucalgary.ca

Kelly Teal Dunwald
kteal@ucalgary.ca

Paulette Harrison
pmharris@ucalgary.ca

Louise Haln
lhahn@ucalgary.ca

Mahadia (Maha) Ibrahim
elmahadia.ibrahim@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Kearley
kearley@ucalgary.ca

Cheyenne Kiani
cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca

Karen Li
kwli@ucalgary.ca

Brant Pohorelic
bkjpohor@ucalgary.ca

John Swann
jeswann@ucalgary.ca
 

-------------------------------------

CHEMISTRY

Jill Howell-Helfer
jhelfer@ucalgary.ca

Zahid Mahimwalla
zahid.mahimwalla@ucalgary.ca

Nicholas Oakley
nicholas.oakley@ucalgary.ca

Dion Rock
dion.rock@ucalgary.ca

Patrick Yu
pyu@ucalgary.ca

Jesse Yuzik
jesse.yuzik@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Gerald Vaselenak
gerald@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE

Daniel Larson
dlarson@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

GEOSCIENCE

Carmen Chinery
cachiner@ucalgary.ca

Elyssa Lynn
celynn@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

MATHEMATICS AND STATISTICS

Danny Glin
dlglin@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY

Courtney Kruschel
clkrusch@ucalgary.ca

Wesley Ernst
wernst@ucalgary.ca

Peter Gimby
pgimby@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Howse
jihowse@ucalgary.ca
Rothney Astrophysical Observatory

James Pake
jpake@ucalgary.ca

 

For media related inquiries, please contact the Office of Advancement at mediarequests@ucalgary.ca

If you are a faculty or staff member, or represent a student group, and have a marketing or communications related inquiry or question, please contact scicomms@ucalgary.ca.  If you have identified a need and support for a marketing, event or student related activity, please complete our Events, Communications and Marketing request form to start the process of working together.

--------------------------------------------------

Silvia Kallen
Director of Development
silvia.kallen@ucalgary.ca


Coral Burns
Web Analyst
burnsc@ucalgary.ca


Melody Harris
Communications and Events Coordinator
wenet@ucalgary.ca


Victoria Keeling-Barrand
Associate Director of Development
victoria.keeling@ucalgary.ca


Kristine Nolte
Development Coordinator
kristine.nolte@ucalgary.ca
 

Alexandra Seidman
Communications Advisor
alexandra.seidman@ucalgary.ca

Kelsey Buck
Human Resources - Advisor
kelsey.buck@ucalgary.ca

Anita Chan-Lem
Finance Analyst
anita.chanlem@ucalgary.ca

Johanna DeLongchamp
Lab Safety Specialist
jmzaalde@ucalgary.ca

Jenny De Los Santos
Human Resources - Advisor Academic
jdeloss@ucalgary.ca

Marianne Furdievich
Human Resources Partner
marianne.furdievich@ucalgary.ca

Katie MacInnis
Finance Partner
katie.macinnis@ucalgary.ca

Chris Pinter
Occupational Health and Safety Consultant
cjpinter@ucalgary.ca

Cory Yost
Manager, Technical Services
cory.yost@ucalgary.ca

For media related inquiries, please contact the Office of Advancement at mediarequests@ucalgary.ca

If you are a faculty or staff member, or represent a student group, and have a marketing or communications related inquiry or question, please contact scicomms@ucalgary.ca.  If you have identified a need and support for a marketing, event or student related activity, please complete our Events, Communications and Marketing request form to start the process of working together.

---------------------------------------------

Events, Communications and Marketing Team

Silvia Kallen
Director of Development
silvia.kallen@ucalgary.ca


Coral Burns
Web Analyst
burnsc@ucalgary.ca


Melody Harris
Communications and Events Coordinator
wenet@ucalgary.ca


Alexandra Seidman
Communications Advisor
alexandra.seidman@ucalgary.ca

 

Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.