Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.

Dr. Bernhard Mayer

Bernhard Mayer

Interim Dean

"Welcome to the University of Calgary's Faculty of Science. We work together to advance research, scholarship and innovation, create authentic learning experiences and inspire careers of the future."

Read Bernhard's bio

Leadership

Cindy Graham, Vice-Dean

Cindy Graham

Vice-Dean

University of Calgary campus arch

Cathy Ryan

Associate Dean - Research and Graduate Education

Nancy Chibry, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs

Nancy Chibry

Associate Dean - Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs

Steven Vamosi, Associate Dean, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Steven Vamosi

Associate Dean - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Wendy Benoit, Associate Dean, Teaching, Learning, and Student Experience

Wendy Benoit

Associate Dean - Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement

Frank Maurer, Associate Dean, Innovation and Strategic Partnerships

Frank Maurer

Associate Dean - Innovation and Strategic Partnerships

Additional contacts

FOR GENERAL (NON-STUDENT ADVISING) INQUIRIES:
(please note that due to COVID-19 we are working remotely and are available via emails listed below)

Department of Biological Sciences
Biological Science Building 186

biosci@ucalgary.ca

Department of Chemistry
Science A Building 229
chem.info@ucalgary.ca

Department of Computer Science
ICT Building 602

cpsc@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

Department of Geoscience
Earth Sciences Building 118
geoscience@ucalgary.ca

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Math Sciences Building 476

mathinfo@ucalgary.ca

Department of Physics and Astronomy
Science B Building 605
phasoffice@ucalgary.ca

For any undergraduate student advising please use the following Undergraduate Science Centre contact information:

Emails:

Virtual front desk at 403-220-8600

Undergraduate Science Centre website
Office Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday:  9am - 12pm & 1pm - 4pm
Thursday:  1pm - 4pm

For any graduate student advising please use the following Graduate Science Centre contact information:

---------------------------------------------------------------
Questions about our MSc and PhD programs? 
email us at: sci.grad@ucalgary.ca

---------------------------------------------------------------
Questions about our Professional Certificate, Diploma, and Master programs?

  • Data Science and Analytics
  • Information Security
  • Game Production

email us at:  prograd.science@ucalgary.ca
---------------------------------------------------------------

Graduate Science Centre website
Office hours:  Monday to Friday:  8:30am - 12pm & 1pm - 4:30pm

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager

Lynne Maillet
maillet@ucalgary.ca
 

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Arminty Clarke
aclarke@ucalgary.ca

Spomenka Curic
scuric@ucalgary.ca

Francene Cusack
fcusack@ucalgary.ca

Kelly Teal Dunwald
kteal@ucalgary.ca

Paulette Harrison
pmharris@ucalgary.ca

Louise Haln
lhahn@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Kearley
kearley@ucalgary.ca

Karen Li
kwli@ucalgary.ca

Brant Pohorelic
bkjpohor@ucalgary.ca

John Swann
jeswann@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

CHEMISTRY

Jill Howel-Helfer
jhelfer@ucalgary.ca

Zahid Mahimwalla
zahid.mahimwalla@ucalgary.ca

Nicholas Oakley

Dion Rock
dion.rock@ucalgary.ca

Patrick Yu
pyu@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY

Zain Ahmed
zain.ahmed2@ucalgary.ca

Wesley Ernst
wernst@ucalgary.ca

Peter Gimby
pgimby@ucalgary.ca

James Pake
jpake@ucalgary.ca

 

 

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager

Lynne Maillet
maillet@ucalgary.ca


BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Cynthia Yip
cyip@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------------

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Danny Glin
dlglin@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------------

GEOSCIENCE

Carmen Chinery
cachiner@ucalgary.ca

Elyssa Lynn

Eric Mott

-------------------------------------------

MATHEMATICS AND STATISTICS

Danny Glin
dlglin@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------------

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY

Jennifer Howse
jihowse@ucalgary.ca
Rothney Astrophysical Observatory

 

 

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SHOPS

Workshop
Location: SA 07
sciwksp@ucalgary.ca
220.5576
Hours: 8am - 4pm
Staff: Todd Willis, Jay McIssac, Nik Hamilton, Jason St. Louis

Glassblowing
Location:  SA 09
sciglass@ucalgary.ca
220.5578
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Mark Toonen  

Electronics
Location: SA 013
scielectronics@ucalgary.ca
220.5371
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Duncan Hanna, Jimmy Omar

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Stores
Location: SB 050
scistores@ucalgary.ca
220.5351
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Magdi Khalil, Nelson Cruz

Chemistry Instrumentation Facility
Location: SB 134
mamforge@ucalgary.ca
220.5359
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Wade White, Jian Jun (Johnson) Li, Michelle Thibault

Chemistry X-ray Facility
Location: SB 328
xray@ucalgary.ca
220.7176
Hours 8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Ben Gelfand

GeoScience Instrumentation Group
Robert Marr (rmarr@ucalgary.ca); Julia Pickering (jepicker@ucalgary.ca)

Greenhouse Group
Dianne White (whited@ucalgary.ca); Cheyenne Kiani (cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca)
220.5233
 

  1. Bernhard Mayer

    Interim Dean

    (403) 220-5389
    BI 540
    bmayer@ucalgary.ca

     

  2. Cindy Graham

    Vice-Dean

    (403) 210-8822
    BI 540
    cmgraham@ucalgary.ca

  3. Wendy Benoit

    Associate Dean
    (Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement)

            
    (403) 220-3293
    BI 540
    wlbenoit@ucalgary.ca

  4. Nancy Chibry

    Associate Dean
    (Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs)

            
    (403) 220-3593
    BI 540
    n.chibry@ucalgary.ca

  5. Frank Maurer

    Associate Dean
    (Innovation and Strategic Partnerships)

    (403) 220-3531
    BI 535
    fmaurer@ucalgary.ca

  6. Cathy Ryan

    Associate Dean
    (Research and Graduate Education)

    (403) 220-3293
    BI 540
    cryan@ucalgary.ca

  7. Steve Vamosi

    Associate Dean
    (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion)

            
    (403) 220-3293
    BI 540
    smvamosi@ucalgary.ca

  1. Kelsey Buck

    Human Resources - Advisor

    (403) 220-8168
    BI 533
    kelsey.buck@ucalgary.ca

  2. Coral Burns

    Web Analyst

    (403) 210-9401
    ICT 713
    burnsc@ucalgary.ca

  3. Stacey Chow

    Executive Assistant to the Dean and Vice-Dean

    (403) 220-4653
    BI 540
    stacey@ucalgary.ca

  4. Heather Clitheroe

    International Coordinator

    (403) 220-5432
    BI 540
    hjclithe@ucalgary.ca

  5. Leitha Cosentino

    Development - Director

    (403) 220-2717
    BI 540
    leitha.cosentino@ucalgary.ca

  6. Jenny De Los Santos

    Human Resources - Advisor Academic

    (403) 220-5985
    BI 540
    jdeloss@ucalgary.ca

  7. Erin Guiltenane

    Communications Advisor

    (403) 210-7584
    BI 540
    eguilten@ucalgary.ca

  8. Rhian Gunn

    Research Facilitator

    (403) 220-8923
    BI 540
    rgunn@ucalgary.ca

  9. Melody Harris

    Communications and Events Coordinator

    (403) 210-9786
    BI 540
    wenet@ucalgary.ca

  10. Silvia Kallen

    Development - Associate Director

    (403) 220-8914
    BI 540
    silvia.kallen@ucalgary.ca

  11. Rin Kobayashi-Wong

    Development - Fundraising Coordinator

    (403) 220-5418
    BI 540
    rin.kobayashiwong@ucalgary.ca

  12. Courtney Krisky

    Human Resources - Coordinator

    (403) 220-5738
    BI 540
    courtney.krisky@ucalgary.ca

  13. Katie MacInnis

    Finance Partner

    (403) 220-6655
    BI 540
    katie.macinnis@ucalgary.ca

  14. Christine Sharp

    Strategic Partnership Specialist

    (403) 220-5785
    BI 540
    cesharp@ucalgary.ca

  15. Karen Thompson

    Senior Administrative Assistant

    (403) 220-8541
    BI 540
    karen.thompson1@ucalgary.ca

  16. Maria Topolnyski

    Senior Administrative Assistant (Receptionist)

    (403) 220-5516
    BI 540
    maria.topolnyski@ucalgary.ca

  17. Gloria Visser-Niven

    Marketing and Communications Director

    (403) 220-7056
    BI 540
    gvissern@ucalgary.ca

  18. Jennifer Younggren

    Human Resources - Partner

    (403) 220-3838
    BI 540
    jayoungg@ucalgary.ca

  1. Ian Mellor

    Director, Technical Operations and Planning 

    (403) 220-2265
    BI 540
    ijmellor@ucalgary.ca

  2. Molly Chisholm

    Laboratory Safety Advisor

    (403) 220-3278
    BI 540
    mchishol@ucalgary.ca

  3. Ronald Dutton

    Solutions Development Lead
            
    (403) 210-9818
    BI 540
    ronald.dutton@ucalgary.ca

  4. Jessica Schnell

    Senior Data Specialist

    (403) 210-7158
    BI 540
    jessica.schnell@ucalgary.ca

  1. Gloria Visser-Niven

    Marketing and Communications Director

    (403) 220-7056
    BI 540
    gvissern@ucalgary.ca

  2. Coral Burns

    Web Analyst

    (403) 210-9401
    BI 540
    burnsc@ucalgary.ca

  3. Erin Guiltenane

    Communications Advisor

    (403) 210-7584
    BI 540
    eguilten@ucalgary.ca

  4. Melody Harris

    Communications and Events Coordinator

    (403) 210-9786
    BI 540
    wenet@ucalgary.ca