Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.

Leadership

Kristin Baetz, Dean

Kristin Baetz

Dean
 

Cathy Ryan

Cathy Ryan

Interim VIce-Dean (oversees graduate education and international portfolios)

Nancy Chibry

Nancy Chibry

Associate Dean - Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs

Wendy Benoit

Wendy Benoit

Associate Dean - Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement

Frank Maurer

Frank Maurer

Associate Dean - Innovation and Strategic Partnerships (on leave)

Pierre Kennepohl

Pierre Kennepohl

Interim Associate Dean - Innovation and Strategic Partnerships

Kris Innanen

Kris Innanen

Interim Associate Dean - Research
 

 

 

Kristin Baetz
Dean
(403) 220-3293
BI 540
kristin.baetz@ucalgary.ca


Cathy Ryan
Interim Vice-Dean
(oversees graduate education and international portfolios)
(403) 220-3293
BI 540
cryan@ucalgary.ca


Wendy Benoit
Associate Dean
(Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement)

(403) 220-3293
BI 540
wlbenoit@ucalgary.ca


Nancy Chibry
Associate Dean
(Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs)

(403) 220-3593
BI 540
n.chibry@ucalgary.ca


Frank Maurer (on leave)
Associate Dean
(Innovation and Strategic Partnerships)

fmaurer@ucalgary.ca


Pierre Kennepohl
Interim Associate Dean
(Innovation and Strategic Partnerships)

BI 535
pierre.kennepohl@ucalgary.ca


Kris Innanen
Interim Associate Dean, Research
BI 540
k.innanen@ucalgary.ca


Stacey Chow
Executive Assistant to the Dean and Vice-Dean
(403) 220-4653
BI 540
stacey@ucalgary.ca


Carmen Sheridan
Director, Operations
BI 540
carmen.sheridan@ucalgary.ca

FOR GENERAL (NON-STUDENT ADVISING) INQUIRIES:
(please note that due to COVID-19 we are working remotely and are available via emails listed below)

Department of Biological Sciences
Biological Science Building 186
biosci@ucalgary.ca


Department of Chemistry
Science B Building 605
chem.info@ucalgary.ca


Department of Computer Science
ICT Building 602
cpsc@ucalgary.ca


Department of Geoscience
Earth Sciences Building 118
geoscience@ucalgary.ca


Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Math Sciences Building 476
mathadmin@ucalgary.ca


Department of Physics and Astronomy
Science B Building 605
phasoffice@ucalgary.ca

For any undergraduate student advising please use the following Undergraduate Science Centre (USC) contact information:

Emails:

Virtual front desk at 403-220-8600

Undergraduate Science Centre website
Office Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday:  9am - 12pm & 1pm - 4pm
Thursday:  1pm - 4pm

View list of USC staff

For any graduate student advising please use the following Graduate Science Centre (GSC) contact information:

---------------------------------------------------------------
Questions about our MSc and PhD programs? 
email us at: sci.grad@ucalgary.ca
---------------------------------------------------------------
Questions about our Professional Certificate, Diploma, and Master programs?

  • Data Science and Analytics
  • Information Security
  • Game Production

email us at:  prograd.science@ucalgary.ca
---------------------------------------------------------------
 

Office hours*

  • Mondays: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm
  • Wednesdays: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm
  • Fridays: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

*Closed during the lunch hour (12:00 – 1:00 pm).

Note: Effective September 1, 2021 the GSC office will be open to public during the office hours listed above.

View list of GSC staff

Research and Administrative Services Manager

Suzanne Munroe
suzanne.munroe@ucalgary.ca


View key contacts and list of services

Business Operations:  If you are a faculty or staff member and have a service request, question or inquiry concerning HR, Finance or Research please visit our new Business Operations web page to see how to submit a service ticket.  You may also contact us at sci.borg@ucalgary.ca.

 

Research and Awards

Rhian Gunn
Research Facilitator
rgunn@ucalgary.ca


Heather Clitheroe
International Coordinator
hjclithe@ucalgary.ca
 

Danielle Demiantschuk
Awards Specialist
danielle.demiantschu@ucalgary.ca
 

Jessica Kerr
Senior Data Specialist
jessica.schnell@ucalgary.ca

 

Business Operations

Melissa Wrubleski
Manager
mwrubles@ucalgary.ca

If you are a faculty or staff member and have a service request, question or inquiry concerning HR, Finance or Research please visit our Business Operations web page to see how to submit a service ticket.   You may also contact us at sci.borg@ucalgary.ca.


Department Contacts
For general (non-student advising() inquiries

(please note that due to COVID-19 we are working remotely and are available via emails listed below)

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SHOPS

Technical Support Services Manager

Michelle Forgeron
mamforge@ucalgary.ca
 

Workshop
Location: SA 07
sciwksp@ucalgary.ca
220.5576
Hours: 8am - 4pm
Staff: Todd Willis, Jay McIssac, Nik Hamilton, Jason St. Louis
Visit website
 

Glassblowing
Location:  SA 09
sciglass@ucalgary.ca
220.5578
Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Staff: Mark Toonen
Visit website
 

Electronics
Location: SA 013
scielectronics@ucalgary.ca
220.5371
Hours: Monday -Thusday: 8:30am - 4:30pm and Friday 8:30am - 3:00pm
Staff: Richard Galambos, Duncan Hanna, Jaden Sprong
Visit website

 

SCIENCE TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Science Stores
Location: SB 050
scistores@ucalgary.ca
220.5351
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Magdi Khalil, Nelson Cruz
Visit website
 

Chemistry Instrumentation Facility
Location: SB 134
mamforge@ucalgary.ca
220.5359
Hours:  8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Wade White, Jian Jun (Johnson) Li, Michelle Thibault, Wen Zhou
Visit website

Chemistry X-ray Facility
Location: SB 328
xray@ucalgary.ca
220.7176
Hours 8:30am – 4:30pm
Staff: Wen Zhou
Visit website


GeoScience Instrumentation Group
Robert Marr (rmarr@ucalgary.ca); Kamran Javed (Kamran.Javed@ucalgary.ca)


Greenhouse Group
Dianne White (whited@ucalgary.ca); Cheyenne Kiani (cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca)
220.5233


Technical Space Specialist
Marc Wrubleski (mlwruble@ucalgary.ca) and scispace@ucalgary.ca


Technical Support Services Admin
Cathy Bartsch (cbartsch@ucalgary.ca)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

View list of Technical Operations Group staff members

The ULS is comprised of a team of multidisciplinary technicians providing direct support for teaching labs in Science.

Please email Farzin Malekani (Undergraduate Learning Services Manager) if you have a support request or question.

---

Undergraduate Learning Services Manager
Farzin Malekani
fmalekan@ucalgary.ca


Manager, Experiential Learning
(Computer Science, Geoscience, Mathematics & Statistics)
Position currently vacant


BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Jenny Bourdage
Jennifer.Bourdage@ucalgary.ca

Arminty Clarke
aclarke@ucalgary.ca

Spomenka Curic
scuric@ucalgary.ca

Francene Cusack
fcusack@ucalgary.ca

Kelly Teal Dunwald
kteal@ucalgary.ca

Paulette Harrison
pmharris@ucalgary.ca

Louise Haln
lhahn@ucalgary.ca

Mahadia (Maha) Ibrahim
elmahadia.ibrahim@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Kearley
kearley@ucalgary.ca

Cheyenne Kiani
cheyenne.kiani@ucalgary.ca

Karen Li
kwli@ucalgary.ca

Brant Pohorelic
bkjpohor@ucalgary.ca

John Swann
jeswann@ucalgary.ca
 

-------------------------------------

CHEMISTRY

Jill Howell-Helfer
jhelfer@ucalgary.ca

Zahid Mahimwalla
zahid.mahimwalla@ucalgary.ca

Nicholas Oakley
nicholas.oakley@ucalgary.ca

Dion Rock
dion.rock@ucalgary.ca

Patrick Yu
pyu@ucalgary.ca

Jesse Yuzik
jesse.yuzik@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Gerald Vaselenak
gerald@ucalgary.ca

--------------------------------------

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE

Daniel Larson
dlarson@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

GEOSCIENCE

Carmen Chinery
cachiner@ucalgary.ca

Elyssa Lynn
celynn@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

MATHEMATICS AND STATISTICS

Danny Glin
dlglin@ucalgary.ca

-------------------------------------

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY

Courtney Kruschel
clkrusch@ucalgary.ca

Wesley Ernst
wernst@ucalgary.ca

Peter Gimby
pgimby@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer Howse
jihowse@ucalgary.ca
Rothney Astrophysical Observatory

James Pake
jpake@ucalgary.ca

 

For media related inquiries, please contact Leora Rabatach (Director of Communications and Marketing) at rabatach@ucalgary.ca or Erin Guiltenane (Communications Advisor) at eguilten@ucalgary.ca

If you are a faculty or staff member, or represent a student group, and have a marketing or communications related inquiry or question, please contact scicomms@ucalgary.ca.  If you have identified a need and support for a marketing, event or student related activity, please complete our Events, Communications and Marketing request form to start the process of working together.

--------------------------------------------------

Silvia Kallen
Director of Development
silvia.kallen@ucalgary.ca

Leora Rabatach
Director of Communications and Marketing
rabatach@ucalgary.ca

Coral Burns
Web Analyst
burnsc@ucalgary.ca

Erin Guiltenane
Communications Advisor
eguilten@ucalgary.ca

Melody Harris
Communications and Events Coordinator
wenet@ucalgary.ca

Victoria Keeling-Barrand
Associate Director of Development
victoria.keeling@ucalgary.ca

Kristine Nolte
Development Coordinator
kristine.nolte@ucalgary.ca

Kelsey Buck
Human Resources - Advisor
kelsey.buck@ucalgary.ca

Anita Chan-Lem
Finance Analyst
anita.chanlem@ucalgary.ca

Johanna DeLongchamp
Lab Safety Specialist
jmzaalde@ucalgary.ca

Jenny De Los Santos
Human Resources - Advisor Academic
jdeloss@ucalgary.ca

Marianne Furdievich
Human Resources Partner
marianne.furdievich@ucalgary.ca

Katie MacInnis
Finance Partner
katie.macinnis@ucalgary.ca

Chris Pinter
Occupational Health and Safety Consultant
cjpinter@ucalgary.ca

Cory Yost
Manager, Technical Services
cory.yost@ucalgary.ca

For media related inquiries, please contact:


If you are a faculty or staff member, or represent a student group, and have a marketing or communications related inquiry or question, please contact scicomms@ucalgary.ca.  If you have identified a need and support for a marketing, event or student related activity, please complete our Events, Communications and Marketing request form to start the process of working together.

---------------------------------------------

Events, Communications and Marketing Team

Leora Rabatach
Director of Communications and Marketing
rabatach@ucalgary.ca

Coral Burns
Web Analyst
burnsc@ucalgary.ca

Erin Guiltenane
Communications Advisor
eguilten@ucalgary.ca

Melody Harris
Communications and Events Coordinator
wenet@ucalgary.ca

 

Faculty of Science Office

The Faculty of Science Office is home to the Faculty's leadership, as well as its fund development, technical operations, finance, human resources, IT, media relations, and communications and marketing leads.