Awards Committee


AC serves as Council’s primary advisory group on award initiatives, issues, and activities. The committee’s overarching mandate is to support the reward and recognition of excellence across the Faculty of Science. The committee will identify, develop, support, and promote applications for internal and external awards for students (graduate and undergraduate), faculty members (professorial and Instructor streams), and support staff. The committee is also charged with advising Council with how it can best recognize its contributors both internally and externally.


  • Cathy Ryan - Co-Chair (Member- Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Education)
  • Danielle Demiantschuk – Co-Chair (AUPE Employee – Awards Specialist)
  • Wendy Benoit – (Member – Associate Dean, Teaching, Learning and Student Engagement)
  • Pierre Kennepohl – (Member – Associate Dean, Innovation and Strategic Partnerships)
  • Fred Wrona – (Biological Sciences)
  • Jeffery Van Humbeck – (Chemistry)
  • Rei Safavi-Naini – (Computer Sciences)
  • David Eaton – (Geoscience)
  • Karoly Bezdek (Mathematics and Statistics)
  • Nasser Moazzen-Ahmadi (Physics and Astronomy)
  • Chaten Jessel – (UG Student Union Representative)
  • Alexander Harrison – (Graduate Student Representative)


Terms of Reference

Under review