Awards Celebrations

The Faculty of Science is a community of excellent researchers, instructors, students, and staff. We are proud of the accomplishments and achievements attained by the members of our faculty. Please join us in congratulating members of our community who have been recognized for their excellence.

Dr. Ken Barker

Dr. Ken Barker

2022 Fellow of Canada’s Association of Information Technology Professionals

Recipient:  Dr. Ken Barker, professor in the department of Computer Science

CIPS Fellow Membership has been awarded to professionals in the Information Technology sector who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the IT profession or industry in Canada. Being awarded the CIPS Fellow status is earned recognition of significant development or outstanding contribution to the advancement of the profession, computer technology, the ICT sector or the adoption of ICT.

Find out more about the award

Jana Vamosi

Dr. Jana Vamosi

2022 Emerald Award in Wildlife & Biodiversity; Emerald Foundation

Recipient:  Dr. Jana Vamosi, professor in the Department of Biological Sciences

The Emerald Awards are issued to individuals who are raising the bar in addressing environmental and climate change issues. These environmental awards celebrate excellence across all sectors, showcasing Albertan environmental projects and initiatives that have addressed and mitigated the effects of local, regional, and global environmental issues by achieving excellence aligned to current environmental priorities.

Find out more about the award

Dr. Christopher Clarkson

Dr. Christopher Clarkson

2022 SPE Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award, Society of Petroleum Engineers

Recipient:  Dr. Christopher Clarkson, professor in the Department of Geoscience

The Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award recognizes outstanding achievements in or contributions to the advancement of petroleum engineering in the area of reservoir description and dynamics. This award was formerly known as the Reservoir Engineering Award and is the largest international award offered by the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

Find out more about the award

Dr. Mindi Summers

Dr. Mindi Summers

2022 Internationalization Achievement Award

Recipient:  Dr. Mindi Summers, associate professor (teaching) in the Department of Biological Sciences

University of Calgary International aims to recognize and celebrate the outstanding contributions of students, faculty, staff and community members in progressing our institutional commitment to excellence and leadership in internationalization. Dr. Mindi Summers teaches courses in invertebrate zoology, animal behaviour, evolution, and entomology that incorporate experiential learning, research experiences, and community engagement. Dr. Summers’ research focuses on student learning and undergraduate research experiences in invertebrate biodiversity, urban environments, and plant-pollinator interactions.

Find out more about the award

Eva Enkelmann

Dr. Eva Enkelmann

Elected Fellow, The Geological Society of America

Recipient:  Dr. Eva Enkelmann, associate professor in the Department of Geoscience

Society Fellowship is an honor bestowed on the best of our profession by election at the spring GSA Council meeting. GSA members are nominated by other GSA members in recognition of a sustained record of distinguished contributions to the geosciences and the Geological Society of America through such avenues as publications, applied research, teaching, administration of geological programs, contributing to the public awareness of geology, leadership of professional organizations, and taking on editorial, bibliographic, and library responsibilities.

Find out more about the fellowship

Dr. Jennifer Adams

Dr. Jennifer Adams

2022 Calgary Black Achievement Awards

STEM Award

Recipient:  Dr. Jennifer Adams, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry and Tier II Canada Research Chair in STEM Education

This award celebrates an individual who excels in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math and who is creating opportunities for Black community members to get involved and join the field.

Dr. Barry Sanders

Dr. Barry Sanders

2022 Calgary Awards

International Achievement Award

Recipient: Dr. Barry Sanders, professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and director of the Institute for Quantum Science and Technology

Quantum science will soon transform our current approaches to computing, information-transfer and security communication. As an internationally acclaimed researcher and scholar, Dr. Barry Sanders, BSc’84, PhD, DSc, has showcased Calgary as the hub for cutting-edge quantum research. He promotes international collaboration and creates opportunities for international students to conduct research in Calgary. He has been a speaker at many prestigious international forums and has presented at NATO workshops on terrorism in Moldova and cybersecurity in Estonia. He has also taught summer programs in countries such as Brazil, Pakistan, India and Morocco. Sanders is particularly interested in supporting developing nations; he believes innovation and scientific cooperation will help transform these nations.

For more information, please visit UToday story


Group Staff Award recipients

Wastewater-Based Epidemiology Team

2022 Sustainability Awards

Group Staff Award

Recipient: Wastewater-Based Epidemiology Team, University of Calgary

Comprised of members from a variety of disciplines and expertise, the Wastewaster-Based Epidemiology (WBE) team have come together as part of a stellar transdisciplinary effort in which their backgrounds in wastewater engineering, environmental virology and genomics, clinical molecular biology, and project management lead the way to innovation and advancement of wastewater testing. The WBE team is leading a multi-million-dollar pandemic-monitoring effort that spans beyond Calgary to include most Alberta municipalities, neighbourhoods and high-risk facilities. Wastewater testing is being launched in Alberta First Nations.

WBE Team members (bolded are from Science):

Michael Parkins, Casey Hubert (BISI), Kevin Frankowski, Cathy Ryan, Gopal Achari, Jon Meddings, John Conly, Rhonda Clark, Darina Kuzma, Nicole Acosta, Maria Bautista, Jianwei Chen, Carmen Li, Andra Bacanu, Barbara Waddell, Kristine Du, Kashtin Low, Jangwoo Lee, Jordan Hollman, Srijak Bhatnagar, Janine McCalder, Alex Buchner Beaudet, Chloe Papparis, Navid Sedaghat, Puja Pradhan, Jennifer Van Doorn, Kevin Xiang, Leslie Chan and Laura Vivas.

For more information, please visit: 2022 Sustainability Awards Winners

Faculty of Science Dean Dr. Kristin Baetz

Dr. Kristin Baetz

2022 Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences (CSMB) Awards

Jeanne Manery-Fisher Memorial Award

Recipient:  Dr. Kristin Baetz (BISI).   Dr. Baetz is also Dean of the Faculty of Science

The award recognizes an eminent Canadian woman scientist who has a distinguished career in the fields of biochemistry, molecular or cellular biology or genetics, resulting from her outstanding contributions to research, teaching or society.

For more information, please visit:  CSMB 2022 Award Winners

Working in the greenhouse

Share your accomplishments

We know you are making a difference and are proud of your research, teaching and learning practice, and engagement with the community.  We want to hear from you so we can share your achievements across the faculty, university and with our community supporters.

Find out more